Ethernet Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dqpassat, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. dqpassat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #1
    I currently have a Mac Pro with dual ethernet ports and will be switching to a new iMac 27". I have two separate networks at work and each one is connected to the Mac Pro via one of the ethernet ports. I've set it up so that switching from one network to the other is as easy as hitting a keyboard combination quick key.

    My problem is that the new iMac only has a single ethernet port. Is there some splitter that will allow me to have access to the 2 different networks without having to manual switch cables??

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What about using a TB <> Ethernet adapter for the second network?
     
  3. dqpassat thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    hmm...would that work??
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    Yes it would. The other option is a USB to ethernet adapter.
     
  5. apedance macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Vienna
    #5
    which is... slower!
     
  6. CalebLevArn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Location:
    United States #

Share This Page