Ethernet stops working on Yosemite?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by colorspace, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. colorspace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #1
    Anyone else having problems with Ethernet since moving to Yosemite. Running a Mac Pro 4,1 on 10.10.1. Usually under heavy load (but nothing I wasn't doing before) my MP's Ethernet goes down especially after waking from sleep. Plugging and unplugging do nothing, nor does switching to the other ethernet port.

    A reboot seems to fix everything. Anyone seeing similar issues?
     
  2. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    This was happening to me as well, I made a 'Home' location and added Ethernet to that and it's been good since.
     
  3. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    A few times booting (since) Yosemite 10.10, my bond (using both ethernet for Link Aggregation i.c.m. my NAS) got broken. Rebooting fixed this issue. Lately the issue has not occurred. Never had this issue in Mavericks.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    No problem so far, except I must disable one of the Ethernet in order to make/receive phone call from my Mac.

    Anyway, my 4,1 is Ethernet only, no Wi-Fi. I don't know will that make any difference.
     
  5. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5

    Good to mention the Wi-Fi! I remember tweaking connecting with my NAS using Wi-Fi, perhaps there is a related conflict?

    Have to check that again.
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    I use Ethernet for one of my printers. Seems to be working.

    Lou
     
  7. MassMacMan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boston MetroWest
    #7
    No problems at all with ethernet on my early 2009 flashed to 5.1 under Yosemite. YMMV...
     
  8. colorspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #8
    Actually my set up is similar and I should have mentioned it.

    Mac 4,1 but with upgraded 6 core and RAM and flashed to 5,1. Interesting that someone mentioned in coming photo calls... not one of my favorite Yosemite features and there may be a corollation between phone calls I've taken and when my Ethernet has gone out. Have to keep out an eye for this.

     

Share This Page