Ethernet to Gigabit

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by GPap, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. GPap macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #1
    Hello, is there a way to convert my IPTV's 100 Mbps Ethernet port to Gigabit Ethernet ?
     
  2. AFEPPL macrumors 68030

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #2
    The hardware is different, so unless they make a box with GBe on board, no...
     
  3. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
  4. AFEPPL macrumors 68030

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Does the IPTV support hardware via USB?
    How would you control routing of data to if1 rather than if0?

    You could email them and ask them if this device is supported and would work.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Does your IPTV have a USB 3.0 port?
    If not, then you will be limited to max less than half Gig-E speeds.
    (and, your IPTV would also need to support network connections over the USB)
    You can certainly try it and see what you get!
     
  6. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #6

    My USB ports are for External Hard Disks Drives, for recording, I'm not sure if they can support this adapter for networking.
    My IPTV has USB 2.0 ports, but I can get 480 Mbps, this is not a problem. Now I get only 100 Mbps which means 6,5 Mbps quality..I'm trying to improve my quality.
    The adapter on the link supported by Linux and my IPTV is Linux-based device.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Yes, but your 100 Mbps through the built-in ethernet port is not potentially limited further by the overhead of a USB port. Throughput of network connection through USB can be quite limited. It depended on the hardware design of the rest of of the IPTV. Theoretical max of 480 Mbps may just be wishful thinking.
    But, easy enough to test in real life. You may be lucky (if it works at all for a network connection)
     
  8. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #8
    I have that adapter (the Plugable brand, but same chipset) and use it for my MBP. I prefer it over the Thunderbolt-to-Gigabit adapter from Apple. The one problem you will run into is the USB adapter needs to have a driver installed for the OS to recognize it. I am not familiar with IPTV devices. Do you have a GUI to an OS where you can install a driver?
     
  9. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #9
    Thanks, in this IPTV device I cannot install a driver because as you said I don't have a GUI. I just open my browser and watch TV or I am able to update the firmware etc but no GUI to install the driver.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Even if a driver does not need to be installed, you would need to have some way to re-direct where the network connection is (choosing a different ethernet connection)
    That may not be possible to change, unless you have access to a command line (might be a form of Linux that runs on the IPTV)
    Or, the network connection, as well as the rest of the operating system, is locked down in firmware.
     
  11. Mikael H macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #11
    @GPap: I'm not sure you'll achieve what you're looking for through those means. Practical example:
    A Bluray film can be said to be about 25 GB in size, and about 2 hours long.
    25 gigabytes = 200 gigabits
    2 hours = 7200 seconds
    That means that on average, the computer in a bluray player will be loading data from the disc at a rate of 200/7200=0,02 gigabits per second, or 20 megabits per second. In other words, if you want to stream a Bluray-equivalent data stream to your TV, there's something terribly wrong with your home network if a (supposed) 100 Mbps link seems insufficient.
     
  12. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #12

    Thank you, 100 Mbps it is sufficient but my IPTV has H264 encoder inside and compresses the stream into 6,5 Mbps quality. I would like more quality and it seems that I cannot do anything for this.
     
  13. Mikael H, Sep 1, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2015

    Mikael H macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #13
    Nope, you're probably right there. But the problem isn't the network, so making that part better won't help you at all. What would happen if you forgot all about the decoder in the TV and ran media streams through a dedicated media player? A Raspberry Pi can be had for cheap, and along with a media center distribution like OSMC does a good job of playing pretty much anything you can throw at it. If that isn't enough, you'll probably have to build or buy a HTPC of some sort (I suspect a base-model Mac Mini will do a superb job if you run Kodi or VLC on it..)

    EDIT: 6.5 Mbps sounds like a completely reasonable bitrate for a H264 file. That would result in a feature-length movie size of somewhere around 5-6 GB, which I have heard from trustworthy sources would pretty common on the darker areas of the Internet. The codec or the engine showing the decompressed data may be bad, of course, or the video data may be badly "translated" from the source material, but there's absolutely no reason for the video to look bad at that kind of bitrate. My previous suggestion stands: See if things look better if you use a real computer of some kind instead of the built-in features of the TV to uncompress the data stream.
     
  14. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #14
    Now I'm using Broadway from Hauppauge, it is an IPTV server (I view TV on Safari) but it has limited quality. If it has Gigabit Ethernet port I believe quality will increased also but now I'm stuck with 6,5 Mbps. I have to search infos for what you suggest me, I'm not much familiar with all these :)
     

Share This Page