Ethernet to Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Moleman99, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. Moleman99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm currently running a 2007 Mac Pro with 4 internal storage drives (plus boot drive)

    I'm looking at upgrading to a new 5K Retina iMac next year, along with a Promise Pegasus2 Thunderbolt 2 RAID array running in RAID5.

    I've started running out of space in my Mac Pro (I've got a buttload of videos, music, photos and documents)

    Because I don't know when I'll be buying the new iMac and I'm running out of space on my Mac Pro, I was thinking of getting the RAID array first and transferring all my stuff onto that now (giving me more storage).

    Now, obviously my 2007 Mac Pro doesn't have a Thunderbolt port, so I was wondering if it was possible to use the Apple Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter to transfer everything from my Mac Pro to the RAID via ethernet? And then, when I buy the iMac, connecting that to the RAID via Thunderbolt 2 to access all my files?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    No, the Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter does not go from Ethernet to Thunderbolt, only from Thunderbolt to Ethernet.
     
  3. dmylrea macrumors 68020

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #3
    I would say no, since the Pegasus doesn't have the programming for adapters such as Ethernet in it's TB port. Adapters, as such, are for computers that you can load drivers that allow function and configuration. In other words, there is basically no way to configure the Ethernet adapter from the Pegasus.

    ----------

    That's what he is trying to do, though...TB to Ethernet, except he wants to turn the TB port on the Pegasus2 into an Ethernet port and connect his old Mac Pro to it via Ethernet.
     
  4. Moleman99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #4
    Thanks, that's what I was worried about. Am I then correct in saying that it is not possible to connect the Pegasus2 to my old Mac Pro?
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Now wouldn't that be special:cool:

    Lou
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
     

Share This Page