Etrade Mobile w/Push

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by RJ17, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. RJ17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Etrade Mobile App w/ Push Notifications is now available. Also just had to accept new terms and conditions. All from iPhone App Store
     
  2. johngardiner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #2
    This has been posted in the official apps with push thread
     
  3. LVdustin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3
    there is an issue with Push regarding the eTrade mobile app
     
  4. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #4
    Care to elaborate?
     
  5. LVdustin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    To simply set up Push notifications with eTrade mobile, you must go to the settings in the app itself and turn on Watch & Stock Alerts and Badge alerts and etc. etc. The issue is, when those alerts are set on, the Push notification doesn't recognize those are going on and doesn't connect to the push server. If you were to set the alerts on in the app, and then exit the app and go back into settings in the app again, you will notice that those alerts you just set on in the settings section are now again once turned off.
     
  6. arom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #6
    Having the same issue. They may have not turned on the push service on the server side of things yet.....
     
  7. simpsomatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Tatertown, KY
    #7
    I can't find the push settings for the alert.

    I have an iphone 3g with OS 3.0, and etrade mobile pro v1.2. In the Settings screen within Etrade Mobile Pro, I just have 3 settings: Remember User ID, Time Out Session, and Enable Shake Features
     
  8. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #8
    ok. im glad im not going insane. ive been digging through my E*trade app and on the actual E*Trade site and I cannot find ****.
     
  9. javaGuru macrumors 6502a

    javaGuru

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #9
    This is definitely frustrating for 3GS owners. I hope they get this resolved soon.
     
  10. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #10
    So here is what I dont get. Do some people have push and others dont? Or was this more of a rumor cause on the App itself, it mentions nothing about push currently.
     
  11. javaGuru macrumors 6502a

    javaGuru

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #11
    At one time the app did mention that it used push notifications to send alerts to your iPhone. Now, I don't see that mentioned anywhere. They must have removed all statements mentioning push notifications. Hopefully they will get this resolved and submit an update soon. This would be a very nice feature to have.
     
  12. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #12
    Push is back. 1.3 enables the push notification alert. I've just verified and it works. The settings page is a bit buggy in that after accepting terms of service, you must wait few seconds for data transfer to their website complete before clicking the next "on" setting.
     
  13. GfPQqmcRKUvP macrumors 68040

    GfPQqmcRKUvP

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Terminus
    #13
    For those of you who have this app and an account with E-trade, I'm curious as to what you think of E-trade in general? Do you like it more than other brokerage services? Why/why not?
     
  14. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #14
    I have been an ETRADE user since 1999.

    The online service itself is okay. Their customer service, on the other hand, is horrid. They make numerous mistakes, not willing to compensate for their incompetencies (e.g., they change the check routing # without telling me about it, only reimbursed half the check bounce fee), and so on.

    I would switch if I wasn't so lazy.
     
  15. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #15
    I dont have a problem with them. Having said that, I havent really used anybody else to compare. Although, having the E*trade app for me, really puts them up a notch compared to everybody else.
     

Share This Page