EV3A GT680 freeze my mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tarafran, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. tarafran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    Hi i bought this card "new"on Ebay .It has EFI and 2GB,single slot and I did not see any extra power connector on it
    My Mac Pro 5.1 (upgraded from 2009 4.1 )has trouble booting from my main Maverick partition
    I was able to reboot with an older MT Lion partition and from there reboot on Maverick
    After 20 mn or less the graphics start showing sign of corruption
    then the mac freezes.
    The geek benchmark of my compare (around 31900)with the stock Gt1200 went down with the Gt 680
    The card is in slot 1,I did load the new drivers from Nvidia
    Any suggestions
    Thanks
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    It most definitely requires two power connectors from the motherboard to the card, you may need adapters as one or both of the connectors on the card may be 8 pin instead of the standard 6 pin. The card will not function properly without these connectors and it is most likely the reason you are having problems.
     
  3. tarafran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #3
    there are no sockets for power on the card,this is a one slot Geforce GT 640
     
  4. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #4
    The title of this thread said 'EVGA GT680, not 640.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    If it works fine in Mountain Lion, I'd say there is something wrong with your Mavericks partition. But really I'm just making guesses because you provide essentially no information and not even the right model number.

    Try contacting the seller for support.
     
  6. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    @Tarafran. Below is an image of the GTX640, a one slot card. Just assuming, from your description this may be the card you purchased which has no provisions for 6 pin power cables.

    [​IMG]

    Like what ActionMango suggested, just clarify with the seller for advise.
     
  7. tarafran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #7
    correction it's a Gt640

    yes i stand corrected it is a GT640 from EV3A that look like the picture from the previous reply.
    mine has a cover on the fan
    I have been looking at so many card model lately I'm starting to be confused on model # :)
    I did not stay long enough on Montain Lion to checked if it was working as all my audio work, is on Maverick
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Hope your GT640 gets fixed. Just an option, a guy installed a GTX660 3G card on his Mac Pro. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TImpXtGYhGE
     
  9. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #9
    The card is from EVGA, not EV3A.

    http://www.evga.com/
     
  10. tarafran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #10
    I reinstalled the card today after reinstalling the EVGA web drivers
    Looks like it's working so far on my Maverick partition
    Took a little bit of time on boot.
    Had to keep the power button on till the beeps and also did an option P R start
    Is there a way to do a stress test on the card ?
    I want to make sure it's 100% working
    Thanks
     
  11. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #11
    Furmark is the most stressful stress test I can think of for a GPU.
     
  12. tarafran thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #12
    Thanks to all for the replies ,
    The card crashed again after 3 hours of use
    I sent it back and ordered a stock Gtx 650
    I'll keep my working Gt1200 for backups
     

Share This Page