iPhone evasi0n 1.0.7 issue

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by LaynieGorilla, Mar 1, 2014.

  1. LaynieGorilla macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Do I have to restore and rejailbreak to get evasion 1.0.7 or do I can I install this update overtop of 1.0.6?
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    You should never re-jailbreak over an existing jailbreak except to perhaps add an untether (not the case here)

    If you are having the Cydia bundles issue, you need to restore then re-jailbreak with newer evasi0n or wait for the newest evasi0n package to be added as a standalone update in Cydia.

    If you are not having the Cydia bundles issue, you do not need to do anything.
     
  3. bkribbs macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    #3
    Why not? I always thought it was ok to do.
     
  4. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
  5. GreenMonster13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #5
    I just jailbroke w/1.0.6 tonight... and was having the caching issue. Older version of cydia substrate was showing up.

    ipad mini is done, and I'm finishing up the iphone now.

    Fixed it (temporarily?) by clearing cydia caches using iCleaner. Hopefully I won't have re-jailbreak using 1.0.7 and re-restore . UGH.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Nope, thought wrong.
     
  7. bkribbs macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    #7
    Obviously... That's why I was asking what it does...
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    it's not okay to do it

    but people are willing to do it if it's the last thing they can try before they have to DFU restore to stock and wait for the next jailbreak, which could be in a few months
     
  9. LaynieGorilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    Oh rats lol.. I have the problem but I just restored as new about a week ago. Thanks anyway!
     
  10. fark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    #10
    What it does? It jailbreaks your device, just like releases 1.00 through 1.06.
     
  11. Enjoylife1788 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
  12. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #12
  13. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #13
    Did you read the article you linked ?

    It offers only a single solution - restore and re-jailbreak (if you have the Cydia bundles error) :eek:

    At least I offered 2 other options.
     
  14. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #14
  15. orytek, Mar 2, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014

    orytek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #15
    OpenBackup is awesome. I use it always when upgrading.

    However you don't need to rejailbreak to fix the Cydia issue.
    Just install iCleaner, turn off all options except Cydia Sources, and tap Clean. After process is complete, respring and return to Cydia and select Changes. Then select refresh at the top.
     
  16. wacky4alanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #16
    So I did the fix with iCleaner once, am I good to go, or will I still need to re-jailbreak for it to work properly in the future?
     
  17. orytek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #17
    That's it. Your done. Evasion 1.0.7 was only for fixing bundled repository package information, and iCleaner does it also by deleting the necessary files.

    As long as your updated to IOS 7.0.6 which includes important security fixes, your good.
     
  18. LaynieGorilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #18
    I tried this and it didn't work. I still can't add modmyi back (which I took off because they told me I have too many sources or something) and my 'sections' list is empty. Might be best to hurry and restore before 7.1 arrives.
     
  19. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #19
    try adding modmyi under the "more package sources" in the cydia tab, if it shows up there

    if the error still shows up, then that means you still have too many sources added
     
  20. LaynieGorilla, Mar 3, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014

    LaynieGorilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #20
    I already did the more package sources thing, it still wouldn't install.

    these are my sources, and this is after deleting about two or 3 of them

    -bigboss

    -

    -cydia/telesphoreo

    -

    -zodttd & macciti

    Are these really too much? Most of these except one are the ones that came with the jailbreak.
     
  21. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #21
    yes, it is too much

    two of those listed (the ones you added) are related to piracy

    you have to consider each piracy repo contains as much package as the default repos. so you basically have 3x the size of the default repos

    the piracy repos are the ones you have to delete, not the default repos
     
  22. LaynieGorilla thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    PA
    #22
    Oh ok, I would have restored for nothing. Thanks, Ill delete them.
     
  23. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #23
    You should learn how to spell "censored"
     
  24. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #24
    No wonder I thought it looked weird :D
     
  25. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #25
    I just figured you meant there was a sensor that triggered the comment to be censored... hehe
     

Share This Page