EVE under Bootcamp 1.3 on a Macbook Pro 2.4GHz

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TilJ, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. TilJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #1
    I set up a bootcamp 1.3 partition so that I could try out EVE. It seems to install fine, but when I attempt to launch it I see an opening banner very briefly (under a quarter of a second) and then it disappears and nothing happens. Taskmanager shows that EVE isn't running.

    Has anyone else tried EVE on the new Nvidia 8600 cards?
     
  2. TilJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
  3. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #3
    XP or Vista?

    Open up your preferences and turn off sound (which was bugged since Cold War), see if that help.

    I'm getting MBP shortly and I'm quite disappointed that EVE doesn't work, let me know what progress you make.

    P.S. I run an EVE Fansite, check out http://nodecrash.com if you'd like :)
     
  4. TilJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #4
    It's on XP SP2. I can't get into the game preferences -- it exists less than a tenth of second after being launched. Or do you mean the vmware preferences? I haven't tried that yet ...
     
  5. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #5

    In your CCP/EVE folder there should be a pref.ini (or something closely named) where you can disable audio by setting it to a zero, check the official forums (especially the troubleshooting forums) for information on how to disable Audio :)
     
  6. TilJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #6
    It turns out that VMWare Fusion beta 4 only provides DirectX 8.X (EVE requires at least DX9). I'll have to try again under native bootcamp/reboot mode to see if that's the problem.
     
  7. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #7
    Judging by your thread title I assumed you were actually running Windows Natively, if so then that's probably what was causing the issue. I'm a big EVE fan, so I did some research a while ago and found that crossover can run EVE "okay," if you're lucky.
     
  8. TilJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #8
    Actually, yes, I have the same problem under BootCamp 1.3 (basically, a fresh install of a native XP service pack 2). I was just testing it under VMWare as well (using the bootcamp partition as the virtual machine).
     
  9. TilJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #9
    Hmmm. I've now confirmed that I have DirectX 9 in BootCamp (via the dxdiag tool), so the problem vmware has can't be the same problem as the one BootCamp has.
     

Share This Page