Even current Mac Pros are not fully supported in ML 10.8

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by peabo, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    One of the new features in ML that I was genuinely excited about, Airplay mirroring is not available on my Mac Pro running 10.8 GM

    According to the OS Page:

    My question is WHY?!!
     
  2. goodcow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #2
    My guess is:

    So even though the "3" isn't next to AirPlay, it seems like they're using hardware based H.264 video encoding for the feature and didn't want to program in software based encoding?
     
  3. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    Seriously? Have you done any research into Airplay Mirroring? It is common knowledge that Airplay Mirroring is using Intel's QuickSync technology. This is baked into the integrated graphics chips in the HD3000 and HD4000 GPU's (i.e. in Sandy and Ivy Bridge). Since the Mac Pros do not have integrated graphics (no Xeon processors do), then Airplay Mirroring is not supported.

    Please change the title of this thread to "Mac Pros do not have Airplay Mirroring" as to state it is not fully supported by ML is a complete falsehood and makes people think that ML is broken on Mac Pros which it is not.
     
  4. PaulD-UK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #4
    Hi
    AVX?
    For the same reason Final Cut Pro X doesn't work optimally on a Mac Pro (2011/12 MBPs and iMacs perform much more smoothly):
    "For even more speed, Final Cut Pro also uses the new AVX capabilities of Intel’s “Sandy Bridge” processors."
    http://www.apple.com/uk/finalcutpro/all-features
     
  5. icyderguru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #5
    Because those products you listed use superior cpus, not that 4 Year old **** in the current Mac Pros. :D
     
  6. sectime macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #6
    Two very effective methods of saying the same thing :cool:
     
  7. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    Such a shame you don't know what the hell you are on about. Has nothing to do with the CPU. It's the GPU, slight difference that is the cause of this.
     
  8. icyderguru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #8
    You are very smart.
     
  9. peabo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #9
    Easy, tiger. No I have not 'done research' into Airplay. I have merely read what was stated on Apple's official pages about it as I assumed that it was not required of me to actively research every one of the touted new features of ML just to see if they would work on a brand new Mac that was released just last month. I don't think the intricacies of Airplay Mirroring are common knowledge.

    In my book, a new feature that Apple list on their main Mountain Lion page not working on the new Mac Pros does indeed mean that they are not fully supported.

    ----------

    So if it's the GPU, then why does the iMac which does not use the integrated intel GPU support it? Surely if it requires the new integrated Intel graphics chip then it is essentially down to the CPU?
     
  10. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #10
    Because quick sync uses the built in graphics on Sandy Bridge..
     
  11. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #11
    Because, while the iMac doesn't use integrated graphics, it still HAS integrated graphics that it can tap into for quick sync. All (but the extreme hex core) mobile and desktop ivy and sandy bridge processors have integrated gpus.
     
  12. peabo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #12
    So I'm assuming that this is a feature that the Mac Pro will never support as long as it contains Xeon processors, even sandy/ivy-bridge ones? Seems a little short-sighted on Apple's part, but I suppose it's something I can live without.
     
  13. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #13
    NVIDIA and AMD have created their own versions of QuickSync to use with their GPUs. So Apple will need to ensure that they utilise them correctly.
     
  14. peabo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #14
    Well here's hoping that Apple throw us a bone and put out a GPU upgrade kit soon (extremely wishful thinking, I know).
     
  15. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #15
    Correct unless intel starts including integrated graphics with ivy bridge Xeon processors or apple offers software encoders for AirPlay. I suppose apple doesn't see a lot of Mac pro users sending video to their appletvs especially since Mac pros are workstations meant to do work whereas AirPlay mirroring is more of a "cool" function that is more likely to happen by consumers not prosumers or professionals.
     
  16. peabo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #16
    Yes, I suppose so. Well, the feature seemed useful to me as an animator, as being able to present works on a TV screen without the need for extra cables is a nice & quick convenience. Re-encoding and adding to iTunes is also an option, but it's a lot more clunky.

    I'd have thought it would also be great for people wanting to do presentations. I can see how mirroring iTunes content would be more consumer oriented behaviour, but that's something we can already do in 10.7.

    I guess I could always try e-mailing Tim Cook and asking, but I really don't expect to get a response.
     
  17. paulrbeers, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012

    paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #17
    Well but those who are going to do presentations, are more likely to do those on their portables (i.e. laptops, ipads, etc) because they will bring their laptop to a conference room and pull up their power point (or keynote) on their portable. All mac laptops that are 2011 or newer have this feature. I don't see a lot of presenters hauling their Mac Pros to a conference room and I doubt many conference rooms would have a Mac Pro sitting in it to do presentations (maybe mac minis) since it would be complete overkill.

    With that said, it would be nice if all Macs could use airplay mirroring and not just the 2011 and newer.
     
  18. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #18
    Or they're feeling a little short on cash.
     
  19. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #19
    Probably because Airplay mirroring is a consumer feature not designed for a workstation.

    And your title is also misleading.
     
  20. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #20
    ^^^ This. Anyone also complaining that HW accelerated Flash encoding is only available on 3-4 Year old GPU's? Same reasons. My 2008 9400m Macbook plays 1080p Flash content better than a 2011 AMD based i7 MBP. There are lot of companies in play for your "experience" and Apple chooses what it wants.
     
  21. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #21
    I think the thread title is completely accurate.

    Airplay mirroring is a feature of 10.8.
    Airplay mirroring is not supported on the current Mac Pro.
    That means that at least 1 feature of 10.8 is not supported on the Mac Pro.
    Therefore, the Mac Pro is not fully supported in 10.8
     
  22. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #22
    Agree, It's 100% accurate.
    This is Apple's "one more thing" let us Mac Pro users down.:confused:
     
  23. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #23
    That's right. If a user wants all the cool stuff then get a toy computer like a mini. I've got one and it's fantastic. It sits happily in the shadow of my MP.
     
  24. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #24
    Yap!
    Apple is not a 3 men company. They have top engineers from all technologies. This mirroring thing is one that they chose not to fulfill us PRO users AGAIN!!:mad:.
     
  25. BrandonG777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #25
    Enough of the dumb **** someone needs to figure out what plist we need to modify or something. It was reported working on beta on iMac7,1 (Mid 2007) I'm sure it's just restricted based on a list Apple decided was "optimal performance" but you can't tell me my Mid 2010 i5 MacBook Pro won't push it.
     

Share This Page