Ever since installing Windows 7 this website stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TH55, Dec 25, 2014.

  1. TH55 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #1
    I have a Dell desktop and ever since I updated to windows 7 from xp the audio preview links on this music website I go to don't work. Any idea why this might be? They still play music when I click them on my iPhone. Here is the site, I tried adding it to "exclusions" in Avast but no luck.

    www.newjams.net/songs
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Does this only occur in Internet Explorer?
     
  3. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #3
    No it doesn't work in Firefox either, which is what I use.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Try lowering the security settings in Internet Explorer and test again. If that works, then try the same in Firefox.
     
  5. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #5
    Ok thx
     
  6. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #6
    Didn't change anything. I also added it as an exclusion in Avast. Any other suggestions? Is it working for you?
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    It works fine here... I have found though that this runs using JavaScript. Perhaps something else is blocking JavaScript like maybe AdBlock or another extension?
     
  8. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #8
    When I disable Avast web protection it works.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    Look for an option in Avast about JavaScript.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Avast has sandboxing, which isolates your websites, I wonder if that's that, or as mentioned some security setting with Avast. FWIW, I've been running with Avast no problem at all. Are you on the latest version?
     

Share This Page