Every single program quits unexpectedly !

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ddd8896, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. ddd8896, Nov 24, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010

    ddd8896 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #1
    and my time/battery life/and spotlight disappeared. It happened when I installed McAffee for Mac provided by my school ITS. As soon as it finished installing about 3 popups come up saying something about fonts. I am new to the whole mac thing but this is really aggravating. Please Help !
     
  2. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #2
    Get rid of McAffree.
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    Right. You don't need McAfee or any anti-virus program. There are no viruses for OS/X in the wild to worry about.
     
  4. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #4
    I would but I cant get rid of mcaffee. everything quits unexpectedly. I cant even open the finder or trashcan or any folder at that
     
  5. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #5
    Do a restore from Time Machine to a date prior to putting McAfee on it. You do use Time Machine right?
     
  6. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #6
    no. I was going to set it up in a few weeks when I get a LaCie Rugged
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    You may have to just format and do a fresh install.
     
  8. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
  9. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #9
  10. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #10
    I have Snow Leopard. Will this mess up my Windows 7 Partition ?
     
  11. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #11
    Did you do Windows 7 in Boot Camp or in a VM?

    If Boot Camp, just make sure you don't format that partition when using Disk Utility and you should be fine. If you did it in a VM, you will lose it.
     
  12. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #12
    I used boot camp but I tried to open disk utilities and it quit unexpectedly.
     
  13. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #13
    You can't do it from within OS/X. Insert the disc and run it from there.
     
  14. ddd8896 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #14
    ohh. ok thanks for your help. My OSX disk is back at school in new york. I will try that and see if it works. If not I can probably just bring it to the ITS helpdesk. Thanks again
     
  15. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
    #15
    It sounds like McAffee ate an important system file ;) got to love virus scanners.
     
  16. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #16
    I had the same issue. My schools IT site said to put Macfee on it and it would be fine but it ending up screwing up big time and making it kernel panic like crazy. It seems Macfee doesn't really know how to play nice with OSX. Get it off ASAP, if your school says you have to have it, take your computer to IT and tell them to explain why its happening (they wont be able to lol).
     
  17. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #17
    Sounds like your school IT department doesn't know what they're doing by forcing Mac users to use anti-virus. If they knew anything about Mac, they wouldn't make you do that. They should only force Windows users to use anti-virus software.

    It's probably a policy of theirs, but it should be amended for Macs.
     
  18. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #18
    no no no My school doesn't make me, but I do know some colleges do make you have anti-virus software as well as some of their other BS stuff. My school doesn't care, I just figured I needed it or it would be good to have when I first got my Mac over a year ago.
     
  19. VolcomLegend macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #19
    The worry isn't that the Mac will get a virus but that it may transmit, unwillingly, a Windows virus by being on the same network or by using a USB drive, etc.
     

Share This Page