Everything is quitting unexpectedly after update...PLEASE HELP.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by roastee, Jun 29, 2010.

1. roastee macrumors newbie

Hey Everybody,

This is my first time posting here, and I don't really like signing up to forums but this is a crisis. My problem is, I cannot open any application whatsoever. I can only open up Firefox, but everything else just jumps around the dock for a second and the error message "the application ______ quit unexpectedly". So if you try to open it again, it just bounces around the dock and the error message appears again. I've uninstalled the apps, and installed them again...NOTHING.

This only started happening after I updated to the Security Update 2010-004 (1.0). I know for sure that's the culprit, but I don't know what to do. It's putting me through so much stress, I almost feel like crying. The worst part is, when I click system update, the system update itself jumps around the dock and disappears to only have that "the application _____ quit unexpectedly".

SO PLEASE...if anybody can help me, or if there's any info I have to post, PLEASE just help me.

THANK YOU.

2. shwc macrumors regular

Which mac do you have?
    How much free space on your hard drive do you have?
    How much RAM do you have?
    Have you installed any 3rd party hacks (themes etc.)
    What OS were you on prior to update?
    Do you have a backup of your hard drive (e.g. via time machine)?

If you have a back up I suggest restoring from your backup. Restore to prior to your installing the update. After restoring, Launch disk utility and run repair disk permissions. Get rid of any 3rd party hacks.

Reinstall update.

3. roastee thread starter macrumors newbie

oh sorry...I'm a noobie to all this info, since I've never had to resort using it.