Everytime there is a sudden rainstorm...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by a-m-k, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. a-m-k macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    ...my internet browser (Safari) freezes. Is that normal?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #3
    The ethernet.
     
  4. troop231 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #4
    This may be a dumb question, but are you using a satellite internet service?
     
  5. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #5
    For television purposes, we have satellite TV, and for the internet, we have a router.

    However, I don't quite remember though because it was very early morning, my iPhone's internet worked fine.
     
  6. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #6
    Who is your internet provider ? A router can be used with any provider :)
     
  7. yliu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #7
    You mean the internet stops working or Safari literally becomes unresponsive?
     
  8. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #8
    Seriously? Surely you know that changing weather has nothing to do with Safari, your mac or how many times your dog licks himself.

    Why are you here and not talking to your internet provider?
     
  9. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #9
    You still need to provide more information. You could have satellite internet service which could be affected by rainfall. Your iPhone could work even if your computer did not if you were using cellular service for internet data.
     
  10. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #10
    For the person who asked if I was serious. I should have been more descriptive, my fault, I meant, it seemed as if EVERYTHING froze, and since this is a new (but not newest) MBP I don't remember the Mac version of "CTRL+ALT+DELETE"

    The odd thing, it wasn't a storm that included lightening and thunder. It was just sudden heavy rain...

    The provider is AT&T.
     
  11. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #11
    dsl ?
     
  12. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #12
    I'm sorry, I don't think I understand what you meant?
     
  13. troop231 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #13
    Does your modem have a cable going into it that looks the same as a normal phone line cord?
     
  14. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #14
    Are you positive you actually have internet at your house?
     
  15. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #15
    You don't know what DSL is ? It's crappy iternet provided by AT&T
     
  16. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #16
    I'm sorry, my astigmatism must have kicked in, I didn't realize you said that. I know what DSL is, I just didn't see that because you posted in lowercase. My DSL service is from AT&T.
     
  17. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #17
    My neighbor had a similar problem with her DSL. Anytime it rained, it got slow. The phone company had to come out and rerun their line to her house.
     
  18. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #18
    This forum auto corrects all caps . If you have DSL can you post your stats showing your noise levels ?
     
  19. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #19
    I wouldn't even know how to do that. I mean, I've come a long way since my first MBP, but I don't know how to get the information you had asked for. Sorry.
     
  20. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #20
    Why are you even wasting time here looking for help with this issue? There's no need to provide any log info. Call AT&T's support number and get them working on this.

    I've used AT&T DSL for 10 years now. It's not the most reliable and can be fickle at times but their support is excellent. They monitor your line and will be able to tell if the outages are localized to your home or are up the line somewhere (i.e., affecting many people in your area).

    Again, nobody here can do anything magical as the problem has nothing to do with your Mac.
     
  21. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #21
    My advice- get off DSL if possible. Internet speeds with DSL... suck. A lot. How long does it take to update the main page? Just curious.
     
  22. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #22
    There's nothing inherently slow about DSL if you have a decent line; I've seen speeds in excess of 50 Mb/s which is well over the US average (according to Ookla). I don't know about AT&T's service guarantees, but over here Chorus treats anything less than 10 Mb/s as a fault.
     
  23. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #23
    Ok I guess it's just me then. DSL around here means like 100 kilobytes/s
     
  24. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 6502a

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #24
    I've got a router. I believe it's manufactured by Zyxel.
     
  25. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #25
    is it a combo modem/router ? I would still like to see your line stats to see what your levels are and if you are on a noise profile
     

Share This Page