EVGA 295gtx in 1st Gen Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wokka, Oct 12, 2009.

1. wokka macrumors newbie

With the help from an older thread, I did successfully get the 295gtx to work in my 1st Gen Mac Pro.

For info to get this working, I used the tips and hints from http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=707745, mainly netkas' injector (thanks netkas!!!), but also a hackintosh user also posted about editing a plist file: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=8199351&postcount=236. Mroy, thank you very much for your misposting, thats what it took to get my card working.

I have a 7300gt in slot 3 at 4x and my 295gtx is in slot 1 at 16x. I'm on Snow Leopard, so didn't need drivers. I have two monitors, and I have my primary display on the 295 and the secondary on the 7300, which seems to boot just fine.

I hope this information helps someone, so if you need further info on what I did, please let me know. I'm not an expert, I don't know the drivers, plist, etc, just read that other thread and followed suggestions.

The card I'm using is http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002DH972U/ref=ox_ya_oh_product

HTH
    wokka

2. nycaleksey macrumors member

nycaleksey

3. wokka thread starter macrumors newbie

My office is pretty noisy, the 3870 in my xp box can be heard, so I can't hear the mac. This 295gtx card has a large fan on it, and I haven't heard it ramp up yet, but the only game I've tried so far is WoW.

I'll do further testing and let you know. Anyone know a good OSX app to benchmark the card?

wokka

edit:
    After power cycling the MP a few times, I've noticed that the fan on the new card runs at high speed until the drivers kick in, so I can hear it as its booting up, but even then, its not loud (at least in my opinion) and is a low to middle pitch, so its not a whine like the old 1900xt or my current 3870x2 in my xp box (POS card btw). Would have replaced it with this 295gtx if I couldn't get it to work in my MP.