exact difference between mobileSafari and desktopSafari?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by clevin, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1
    since this internet browser would probably be the main reason for me to consider an iPod Touch, I want to make sure I know what Im getting into.

    I want to know exact difference between mobile version and desktop version of safari. What are things that I can't do with mobile version that I can with desktop browser?

    Whoever have experience with iPod Touch, or iPhone, please help me out.
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    No Flash, no WMV, no Java.
     
  3. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #3
    IMO no big deal.

    99% of flash content on the web is ads anyway (Biggest flash site is youtube which works fine on ipod because of the app). Hardly use sites that require java. Screw WMV
     
  4. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #4
    ive been hearing this a lot...how do we have youtube without flash though..?
     
  5. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #5
    H.264
     
  6. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    i read somebody mentioned about ricktext input? any detail?
     
  7. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #7
    Did you mean Rich Text?

    If so I heard MobileSafari was having problems with that in Gmail...
    Easily fixed with PLain Text setting. Annoying, but not really a big deal. Just can have pretty font or bold letters on the ipod/iphone
     
  8. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #8
    whats that..i hope this isnt a dumb question//:confused:
     
  9. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    how about those dynamic drop down menus that show up when you move mouse on it?
     
  10. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #10
    Different video codec. Apple made a deal with YouTube and they're double-encoding all their video so that it's also available in an iPhone + AppleTV friendly h.264 codec. The bonus is that quality is way better.
     
  11. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #11
    h264 is a video compression codec. It's what Apple uses to compress the TV shows and movies they sell in the iTMS and it's one of the formats used to compress video on HD-DVD and BluRay.

    It's also the format that YouTube uses to store all (well, at least all the new stuff, maybe all of everything now) of their videos. The Flash player is a h264 decoder/controller, so Apple has a deal with YouTube to just send the h264 file to the iPod touch/iPhone and let the built in player do the decoding/controlling.

    Adobe is move ALL Flash video to be stored in h264 with a recent update to Flash. Hope that explains it.
     
  12. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #12
    oh, thank you...i never knew that.
     
  13. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #13
    Sorry for the double post, but I'm betting that YouTube is using the h264 version of the video for both functions. Flash has officially started using h264 for all Flash video, and I bet that YouTube was in on this deal early, since it's got to be the single biggest user of flash (not in complexity, but in just raw number of users that are required to have flash).

    I suspect that they started using h264 for all new videos back when the deal with the AppleTV was announced and ran a massive conversion on the old stuff some time after that. It only makes sense since Adobe is dumping FLV and adopting h264...
     
  14. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    Those are a no go as there is no onmouseover event on the multitouch devices.
     
  15. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    guys, please focus on my question, thanks

    whoever needs to know the knowledge of codecs, please search wikipedia :D


    another Q

    how about download? is it allowed? if so, where do the files go?
     
  16. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #16
    another Q

    how about proxy? can I set proxy?

    or if not, does www.proxy.org works?
     
  17. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #17
    I think you can set proxy through the wi-fi settings. I am not sure on that as I have no wi-fi access right now. I would assume the proxy site would work.
     
  18. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #18
    thanks

    again, anybody can tell me if its possible to download any thing in mobileSafari
     
  19. caMi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #19
    I think that is a no. Unless it is a .pdf or .doc, etc.

    Edit: It seems like you are in need of an ultra portable laptop, not an iPod...
     
  20. owen-b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #20
    Jeez, touchy much?

    Sorry mate, you can't ask that second question, we're too busy focussing on your first one which we already answered with the very first reply.
     
  21. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #21
    Zing! :p
     
  22. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #22
    I was just asking the questions of basic functions I would need on a PDA. Since eventually I would hope this can replace my palm T|X, starting with a browser that can do some basic jobs I would need.

    So far, download is a problem..
     

Share This Page