Excel 2008 automatically removes the number "0"

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by celticpride678, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Where? Written how? Anywhere in the cell, or at the beginning or the end?

    You're missing a whole load in info here.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Typically Excel removes the "0" at the beginning of a number in a number formatted cell

    One way to overcome this (IIRC) is to start with an apostrophe '

    '01132 instead of 01132

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Yes starting with a ' will make the cell a text cell rather than a number cell.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Or change the cell's (or row's/column's) formatting from the Format menu..
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Unfortunately, I have found that sometimes Excel thinks it knows better than I do what I need, and when I format the cell as text and then enter a number it autoformats it back to number :eek:.

    And alternately, when I enter the number first and then go to format the cell to text I have already lost my zero.

    It is always quicker for me to just put the ' in there and forget it!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #7
    Alas, that is the Microsoft Office way… :eek:
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    And it doesn't? Speak quietly, it might hear you... :)

    Great tip, thanks for sharing!
     
  9. celticpride678 thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  10. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #10
    Just be careful with using ', as it does make it a text formatted cell - i.e. that value will not be computed in certain formulas. I ran into that not too long ago where a few random cells in a column had been set as text via ' - and it took a few minutes to track down why the totals didn't seem quite right...

    Otherwise though, it's a quick and easy way of showing a zero...
     

Share This Page