EXCEL 2008 Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by teknikal90, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    hey,
    im getting a mac.
    i also ordered office 2008.
    which means excel 2008.
    which means no VBA..
    yesterday my lecturer told me i will need to use this stats program, Kaddstat...an excel plug in:
    (http://www.johnwiley.com.au/highered/black/student-res/index.html)....
    now
    since excel 08 has no VBA support, will that app be screwed? ie. am I screwed?


    thanks
     
  2. exegete77 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #2
    Not necessarily. The .xla (extension for add-ins) often does not require VBA. It should work. Try it, it may be fine.
     
  3. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    it is a macro though...
    is there any way around it?
    i read appliscript is like the apple version of macros?

    anyone???can anyone with office 2008 test this out?if it doesnt work i might order office 2004.
     
  4. Kaddstat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #4
    Hey,
    Did you ever resolve this problem? I have found myself in exactly the same boat. Please let me know OK?

    Thanks
     
  5. chscag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    I'm not the OP but I can tell you it isn't going to work. MS really "stepped on it" when they left out the ability to run VBA or macros in Office 2008. About the only way is to convert to an Applescript. Would have been nice if MS included a conversion utility along with Office 2008. :mad:

    All may not be lost though, rumor has it MS will add VBA\Macros back with the next upgrade ($$$). Nice of them isn't it? :rolleyes:

    Regards.
     
  6. Kaddstat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #6

    Sorry i should have mentioned that I am actually running office:mac 2004. Does that change the landscape for me at all?

    Thanks for your help too, appreciate it immensely!
     

Share This Page