Excel 2011 saving to NAS help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tshrimp, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. tshrimp macrumors 6502

    tshrimp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #1
    I have a NAS setup and save my docs to it from all my computers. All my Windows computers seem fine. (Office 2010 and Office 2013). On my Macs with Office 2011 Excel has an issue saving to the NAS. (Word is fine).

    When I try and save I get a message....

    "Document saved successfully Cannot reopen the saved document due to low memory. Please close the document."

    Have 16GB ram with 12GB free. Excel taking up 83.8MB. If I change from .XLSX to .XLS ti saves just fine with no errors, but .xls has its limitations.

    BTW...NAS is NTFS on 1 TB Seagate. Not currently Mirrored (but soon to be). (I thought Macs could not write to NTFS, but have been doing with other files just fine...except Excel:)

    Any ideas how to fix. I have seen the question asked on the web, but no real fixes.

    Thanks,
     
  2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    OS X cannot write to NTFS natively, but when it goes across the network (unless using iSCSI, etc) the file system becomes irrelevant. An .xlsx file is actually a ZIP file comprised of some XML files. Can you save the file on the desktop then move it to the network share?
     
  3. tshrimp thread starter macrumors 6502

    tshrimp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for the response. Yes, I can save and then move, but this won't work for my wife. I have to have it open and save to the network drive. Setup so can open from all computers including osx and windows. Have all default location to the network drive to save confusion.
     
  4. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    Give the Paragon-NTFS drivers a whirl and see if that fixes your problem. I use them and have had no problems.
     
  5. tshrimp thread starter macrumors 6502

    tshrimp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #5
    Found a good deal on an Iomega (Lenovo) ix2-dl NAS, after configuring this NAS my issues went away.
     

Share This Page