Executing javascript.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Cabbit, Nov 22, 2009.

1. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

I am trying to have the below javascript popup a message box automatically once all the fields return valid. The aim is that i will change this to a image swap in the future. (i have a button with a x in it i want it to change to a √ once the form passes basic validation).
    Is this possible with javascript? I am very new to meddling with javascript.

login.tpl.htm
    HTML:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
    <head>
    <title>Nanashi - Software Engineering</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/style/css/base.css" media="screen" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/style/css/login.css" media="screen" />
    <script src="../javascript/login/login.js" type="text/javascript"> </script>
    </head>
    <body onLoad="submitButton(this)">
    <div class="wrapper">
    	<div id="header">
    	<h1>Group 10 Project Intranet</h1>
    	 	<div id="menu">
    	  		<ul id="nav">
    	   			<li class="activelink"><a href="/">Login</a></li>
    	  		</ul>
    	 	</div>
    	</div>
    	<div id="content">
    		<div id="full">

<div id="wrapper">
    			<form name="form" id="form" class="form" action="/login" onsubmit="return validate(this)" method="post">
    				<p>
    					<h2>Login</h2>
    					<p>
    						<label for="name">Username</label><br />
    						<input class="title" id="name" name="user" size="30" type="text" />
    					</p>
    					<p>
    						<label for="password">Password</label><br />
    						<input type="password" class="title" id="password" name="password" size="30" />
    					</p>
    					<p>
    	   		 			<input type="submit" value="Submit" class="submit" />
    	   		 		</p>