Exercise goal tracking

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by emporiky, Nov 5, 2016.

1. emporiky macrumors regular

I am new to the AW world (just got my S2 last week) and so far I love the activity features. There is just one thing I can understand - how is the AW tracking my exercise goal?

I am a relatively active person, but sometimes simply going to the supermarket or taking a walk is marked as part of my exercise goal.
    Is that the case for anyone else?

2. tromboneaholic macrumors 6502a

tromboneaholic

The Watch seems to calibrate to your activity level. If you don't get your heart rate up very often, it will give you exercise credit more easily. If you wear it for a few brisk walks, it will start to ignore leisurely strolls...

3. Clint1583 macrumors regular

How does it know your walking around the grocery and not on a hike? It doesn't, that's why any activity counts towards daily exercise as it should. Someone such as a Mail Carrier could easily hit their exercise goal simply by doing there daily job and not doing any "real" exercise.

And of course the AW base's your exercise goal's on the profile information you gave when you sent up your watch. You can manually change this if needed.

4. Night Spring macrumors G5

Night Spring

What Clint said. The Activity circle tracks your overall activity levels, including stuff like walking around grocery store. If you want to track just your more structured exercise, use Workout.

5. tromboneaholic, Nov 5, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2016

tromboneaholic macrumors 6502a

tromboneaholic

There actually is no single "activity circle". The rings measure different things, such as heart rate in addition to movement.

From reading and my own observations, the three activity rings seem to work like this: