Existing ATT simcard work or no?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dixit, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. Dixit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    So with all the threads Ive read no one has really mentioned if they have tried a existing ATT/Cingular simcard in their iPhone and if it works? I know I wont get the visual voicemail or anything but just want to know if it works.

    This would save me having to sign up for another 2yr contract. Main reason I cant because this ATT phone I got now is part of my business account and cant sign for another contract.

    Please let us people waiting on the fence know about this. Thanks

    Dixit
     
  2. uegwen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #2
    Lol I just asked the same thing. I looked for something like this but I guess you were writing it just as I was writing mine. I hope you get an answer as I need one too.
     
  3. Dixit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #3
    May take awhile, many of the iPhoners are still playing with theirs :)
     
  4. AirmanPika macrumors 6502

    AirmanPika

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Vandenberg AFB, CA
    #4
    I don't think you can just drop one in and it work. The phone gripes about being activated regardless of whether the sim is registered or not. I did try throwing my old SIM in my iPhone though and while it griped about the SIM not being registered it DOES let me use the other functions of the phone like WIFI internet and the ipod still.
     
  5. uegwen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    Interesting.

    Now, was this before or after you activated your iphone? If it's after you activated it, I'll probably have to look towards hacking it. I was hoping to avoid that.
     
  6. Dixit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    So you put a working ATT/Cingular one in there and it griped about it not being registered?

    I read where it doesnt complain before the phone is activated, but after it is activated it gripes.

    Dixit
     
  7. AirmanPika macrumors 6502

    AirmanPika

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Vandenberg AFB, CA
    #7
    I threw in my old sim AFTER I activated the phone. I had meant to see what would happen before I activated the phone first but I was too giddy and wired on caffeine
     
  8. uegwen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    As soon as I hear about a successful case of someone doing swapping the SIM and it working before registering, I'm running out and buying one! Please someone throw me a bone here!
     
  9. Dixit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #9
    Gotcha, I would expect that since that SIM is longer valid after it was ported over to the new one.

    Dixit
     
  10. appleii2mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #10
    I think you're going to be waiting for quite a while.
     

Share This Page