Existing MacBook Air Superdrive work with new models?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by WardC, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #1
    I was just wondering, I have a MacBook Air Superdrive that was purchased in August, it is the older existing MacBook Air SuperDrive. Has anything changed with the introduction of the new models (ie - is there a new SuperDrive, and are the older ones still 100% compatible with the new MBA models). I'd like to be able to use my old MBA SuperDrive to install all my programs from DVD onto my new 11.6" MacBook Air when it arrives, I just want to be assured that it will work, and nothing has changed (like a new revision of the drive they are selling that is required for use with the newer models). Or is it just the same drive?

    Thanks!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    I am pretty sure it's exactly the same thing, just cheaper. Either way, it's just a USB disk drive, so I'm sure it will work.
     
  3. WardC thread starter macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    Well the MacBook Air SuperDrive will only work with the MacBook Air and the Mac Mini, it won't work with the MacBook Pro, the iMac, or the Mac Pro, the USB ports on these models do not support the voltage...also it won't work with a PC. I was just wondering if the drives they are selling now are exactly the same drives they have been selling since day one. I don't want to have to buy another drive.
     
  4. falconeight Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #4
    I bought a $350 dvd drive at best buy with a mac symbol on it and it works great.
     
  5. WardC thread starter macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #5
    I didn't say you couldn't use other drives with the MBA. I was saying that the MacBook Air SuperDrive can't be used with machines other than MBA or Mac Mini.
     
  6. falconeight Guest

    falconeight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #6
    I wasn't responding to you. I am just saying that the superdrive is damn expensive.
     
  7. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #7
    I bought a $79 MBA SuperDrive tonight. The model# = MC684ZM/A . Is that the model# of your MBA SuperDrive?
     
  8. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #8
    I was told in the Apple store that this drive will work with the new MBAs.
     
  9. kiteflyer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #9
    I am excited that Apple has finally come out with a true ultraportable
    (both in weight and size). I went to the Apple store with my old IBM
    portable DVD drive with Slumdog Millionaire on it and it worked just fine
    on the 11 inch Macbook Air.
     
  10. jmazzamj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #10
    This is just to make it clear, it's not referred to anyone.

    Boot your MBP holding the option key so that the USB SuperDrive will show up and boot from your Mac HD. This process will make your SuperDrive usable in Mac OS X.
     
  11. a2applegirl macrumors regular

    a2applegirl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #11
    I have the old superdrive from my gen 1 macbook air (computer is long ago sold). I have it currently hooked up to my mac mini server. I used it last night to install Adobe Photoshop on my new 11.6" air and it worked fine. :cool:
     
  12. drjsway macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #12
    You bought a $350 drive and you thought the SuperDrive is expensive?
     
  13. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #13
    The old Air SuperDrive works on the new ones fine. Tested it myself.
     
  14. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #14
    He was making fun of people spending ridiculous amounts of money with Apple logos on them...

    I personally would recommend people buy an external BluRay which is backwards compatible to DVDRW/CDRW. I bought one on eBay brand new about six months ago for $79. It works as a BluRay player in Windows and DVD/CD in OS X.

    I think that's a better way to spend money, personally. Now, it's not aluminum, but it's very rare that it needs to be used. I have mine in a cabinet, connected to the back of an LED ACD. It have a door hiding the drive, and all of my other USB accessories that aren't pretty enough to be seen next to my Macs.
     
  15. PsyD4Me macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
  16. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #16
    Old drive worked great! Burned an iso with it and installed Office2011 H&B with it... from the iso I burned.
     
  17. agaskew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #17

    For the love of whatever, its not the USB port voltage that restricts the Superdrive's compatibility. Its the IDE to USB bridge in the superdrive.
     
  18. Tazmaniac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Would I have any problems reading from or burning to something like the Samsung SE-S084C/TSSS ?
     
  19. eba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
  20. elwood58 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #20
    I have not found an external drive that it won't work with yet.
     
  21. breakfast, Nov 12, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2010

    breakfast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #21
    new superdrive on old mba?

    Guys,

    What about the other way round: new Superdrive on "old" MBA? Anyone?
    And what exactly's the difference between the two Superdrives anyway?


    old: MB397G/A
    new: MC684ZM/A


    Would the new Superdrive version work with a mid 2009 MBA?

    Thanks!
     
  22. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #22
    There is no technical difference. Its probably packaged differently and its discription is different, but nothing more. Its a USB disk drive, they are universial, they should work on any computer, but Apple has locked it down so they only work with the MBAs. :(
     
  23. breakfast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #23
    Maybe a small one?

    left: MB397G/A (old)
    right: MC684ZM/A (new)

    But besides?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Appleind macrumors regular

    Appleind

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #24
    Remote Disc

    If you own multiple macs why not use remote disc.
     
  25. breakfast macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #25
    Need a drive, remote disc doesn't work for me.
     

Share This Page