Expanding BootCamp Partition with El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Markiie, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. Markiie macrumors 6502

    Markiie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California.
    #1
    Trying to expand my boot camp in El Capitan. I've gone do disk utility and adjusted the amount i want to expand. When I try to boot up in Windows it can't find the boot up device. Anyone try to do this with EC?
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Adjusting partition size using disk utility/disk management under Mac OS X/Windows will immediately cause the other system fail to boot.

    To do this, you can try to use Camptune X. With SIP disabled, you can adjust size of your Windows partition as many times as you want, using this utility.
     
  3. Evren Carven macrumors regular

    Evren Carven

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    #3
    Yeah, Shirasaki's advice is a good way to adjust boot camp partition. Now, the question is Windows can't find the boot up device after expanding. To solve this problem, i think is to repair Windows with the installation disc. You may contact Apple/Microsoft's support to get more information.
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    But given the fact that Apple may probably just advice you to nuke everything and start over, plus Microsoft engineers know little to nothing about Apple's EFI system, I think OP could try to find an EFI shell, and execute command from there to see if there is any possible ways to solve this.
    I ran into this problem and Apple support staff suggested me to format the whole disk and start over.
     
  5. DFWHD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    #5
    Be careful - I've had this issue and tools that advertise their capabilities at the end didn't really work. It resulted in having to rebuild the bootcamp partition on a couple of different macs.
     
  6. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #6
    Yeah. You are right.
    I have zero issue under El Capitan so far, though.
     
  7. DFWHD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    #7
    Thanks, that is good to know. The last time it happened under Yosemite, I built the BC partition large enough to cover me for a near future.
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    I, on the contrary, use BootCamp and Windows for fixing some stupid yet small issues in Mac OS X outside Mac OS X .
    For example, if some non system files are somewhat locked in Mac OS X, and I cannot find which app is using this file, I will just boot to Windows, and delete it. Done.

    So now for me, BootCamp size is just enough to install Windows plus office 365. I don't need more. :)
     
  9. KenoZzZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    #9
    I know this thread is old, but i wanted to give someone that at this date visits this site a easy tutorial.

    1. Download Yosemite disk utility which you can get here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/attachments/disk-utility-7z.167117/

    2. IMPORTANT: Make sure you set boot camp as your boot device, which you can do under system settings > startup disc

    3. Resize mac partition to be smaller in the yosemite disk tool that you downloaded. It can be opened with a 7z unarchiver like keka. Dont try to do this with the El Capitan disk utility, because it will mess your windows, and free space up so you cant use it.

    4. Once its done, boot into windows

    5. Download minitool partition here: https://www.partitionwizard.com/free-partition-manager.html

    6. Expand the space on your windows in the tool. Before doing this, make sure you have done step 2, or you may corrupt windows!

    7. It will restart the computer, because it needs to be done without the disc running.

    8. If you did step 2, it will boot you into windows and bam! You have resized!

    9. Done!

    If you do the same mistake that i did the first time (not doing step 2) Then you could try to repair the disc with a bootable windows disc or usb. Hope you see this!
     
  10. kneel23, Jun 17, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2016

    kneel23 macrumors newbie

    kneel23

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Location:
    minneapolis USA
    #10
    KenoZZZ:
    Can't perform step 2 because thats the main problem everyone is posting. The bootcamp partition doesn't show up in Disk Utility, NOR in Startup Disk, so there is no way to execute Step #2.
     
  11. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #11
    Is your disk encrypted? Try holding the option key down on boot up when you hear the tone.
     
  12. kneel23 macrumors newbie

    kneel23

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Location:
    minneapolis USA
    #12
    I took the lazy route and used CamptuneX and I turned off SIP first, then was able to go back into OSX and resize both partitions, and Windows 10 then worked fine. But if people know what they are doing they can do it all manually from terminal
     
  13. Kardionoize macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    #13
    I tried that yesterday and i think i found a solution, i'm on macbook pro so i made a bootable dvd of windows reboot with the alt button pressed and booted the dvd, then inside the windows instaler theres a problem assistant and it should fix your windows partition (;
    P.D i'm still looking a way to resize the partition if i find something i'll let you know
     
  14. kneel23 macrumors newbie

    kneel23

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Location:
    minneapolis USA
    #14
    CampTuneX - it will resize both partitions. It cost $20 but oh well. Paragon has to make money somehow

    YOU MUST FIRST TURN SIP off (do this by booting into safe mode (Cmd+R while booting)) then go into terminal and type (without quotes): "csrutil disable"

    BOOM. Go back into OSX normally and run CamptuneX and resize your ****, everything will work fine.
     

Share This Page