Experience using WinClone

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MaxxTraxx, May 1, 2011.

  1. MaxxTraxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #1
    I plan on copying my Windows partition to a new hard drive and I am wondering how are people using Win Clone. Does it work ok?

    Thanks
     
  2. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #2
    works great. Make sure it's the same machine. And make sure Windows isn't in hiberbation when you image it.
     
  3. MaxxTraxx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #3
    Any tips you have for moving it over? And any specific instructions?
     
  4. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #4
    You mean the image? It's just a file. Copy and paste. It's very easy.

    As a matter of fact, it's almost exactly like using Vmware Fusion or Parallels images, except that it HAS to be the same machine (almost always that is).
     
  5. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #5
    Yeah, make your new partition the same size as your old one was. Even 1GB smaller won't allow it. I did the special image, compressed I think. The second option. But yeah I had a 120GB partition cloned and compressed into 22GB Image or something, but upon restore I made a 119GB partition cuz I couldn't get the slider to 120 lol, then it wouldn't restore. So I had to delete the partition and remake it at 121GB and it restored fine.

    You'll notice that if you have a Win7 partition, the boot load screen is back to Vista but no big deal. Also first boot you'll have to do the scandisk.
     

Share This Page