Expert help needed regarding start up cd's for OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CrazyMacGirl, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. CrazyMacGirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have been given a white macbook and the startup disk but the laser cant read the cd. I'm really bad with computers but I was wondering if its possible to bypass the admin password with out the disk. If I download OS X .4 ???

    Is it possible to do?? Please its driving me crazy because I cant install anything and nobody knows the password and the laser is a bit worn out so its not possible to use the startup cd...

    I would be soooooo gratefull for any advice!

    Thanx Emma
     
  2. broken-chaos macrumors regular

    broken-chaos

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Is there another administrator account on the computer that you know the password to?

    Alternately, you could try FireWire target disk mode.
     
  3. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #3
    hi !!...
    No, my sister's boyfriend was given it by his uncle. And they can't remember what it is. But I'm going to university soon and need it for class. but I cant intsall things :(

    Whats fire wire mode?

    Thankyou so much btw!!
     
  4. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
  5. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #5
    Erm.. Thank you very much for that. Is it really so simple??
    And will it work on a 10.4.11 macbook like mine??

    Im still now sure what single user mode means ?

    such a big help thanks xxxxxxxxxx
     
  6. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #6
    ooops sorry..!! Still 'NOT SURE' ,.. what single user mode is?!!xxxxxx
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    It's the bowels of the OS, i.e. black and white command line. You don't want to come near it unless you really know what you're doing or unless you've got a guide for something.
     
  8. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #8
    Right I'm a little frightened by it!

    If I try it will it work? If I follow a guideline??

    Thats really why I need some expert hints!!!

    :(
     
  9. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #9
    Just type everything as the guide says. I'd backup if you can, just in case something goes horribly wrong. Chances are it'll go fine.

    I did something similar once, got a PowerMac second hand. Worked perfectly on the first go. Guide below.

    [user's short name] is exactly that. It's usually an all lowercase, no spaces version of the full name that you see at the login window. Quick note: Don't type it with the brackets.

    This basically makes the Mac act as if you just started it for the very first time, allowing you to create an admin account.

    After you've done this, let us know if you need help grabbing files from the other user or deleting accounts.
     
  10. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #10
    Ok guys Im on another computer now trying to follow the steps in ingle user mode!!!

    Ive gotten up to the last bit as instructed.. but Ive forgoten just how to spell the user name acount!! How do I go back out from here???

    HELP!! before I end up ruining my mac!!!
     
  11. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #11
    Do this command:

    Code:
    dscl . -list Users | grep -v _
    One of the usernames listed should be recognizable as your personal user account. Use that username for the final step.
     
  12. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #12
    I just posted this in another thread but do this to reset the password:

     
  13. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #13
    so the first thing i type is 'mount 'etc.. do i not have to type any of the other codes mentioned above??

    so confusing!!

    x
     
  14. electroshock macrumors 6502a

    electroshock

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #14
    Well, you said you were on the last step but didn't know what username to use. So, given that situation, do:

    Code:
    dscl . -list Users | grep -v _
    It will list a few usernames. One of them, you should hopefully recognize as being yours. For example, you recognize the username 'snowkitty' in the list as being yours.

    Now you can do the final step (using username 'snowkitty' as an example):

    Code:
    dscl . -passwd /Users/snowkitty newpassword
    You will want to change 'snowkitty' to whatever username you recognized in the dscl . -list step.
     
  15. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #15
    Do this command:


    Code:
    dscl . -list Users | grep -v _

    Im trying to work out which key on my keyboard do i press for the symbol after 'users' ... is is an I or a 1 or what .. i dont think i have that key!!
     
  16. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #16
    Its | which is the input received by pressing shift and the key right below delete/backspace on your keyboard.
     
  17. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #17
    Hey thanks for that.. I figured it out.. But it says 'e server send error' ??

    whats up with that?

    It doesn't seem to want to work for me.

    Is it different o different macs?? Mines a white one and it says os 10.4.11

    I figured out the short name.. but its still not doing what its supposed to!!

    Im so close but so far !
     
  18. CrazyMacGirl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #18
    Is it possible that the 'shortname' could be .. 'Chris local account' ??

    because thats what it says the short name is... the account otherwise is Chris Wise..

    So do I write.. 'chriswise'? or 'chrislocalaccount' ??

    you see my meaning? Im a little confused.. somethings got to work.. aaaarrrgh!!!

    thanx for all your support guys
     

Share This Page