Experts to help!! Win7 64Bit on iMac 2009 early model

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by peaks82, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. peaks82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    Hi there!
    I have been googling for the solutions, none of them works on my machine unfortunately...

    Model: iMac 24" 2009 early model
    Spec: iMac 9,1 Duo Core 2.93, 4GB ram
    OSX: Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    Problem: Unable to install drivers through bootcamp on Windows 7

    I have already tried a few methods as below, but none of them works...

    #1) Direct setup
    I tried to double click on the setup file from Windows Support folder, but it didn't work and says: "Boot Camp x64 is unsupported on this computer model"

    #2) Troubleshooting
    I tried to right click the "Boot Camp x64" folder, then click "start program", but it says: "run as setup.exe".

    #3) MS-DOS
    In order to have the permission to do so, I followed instructions from other mac users that, cmd.exe --> msiexec /i Bootcamp64.msi, but it could not run either.

    #4) Orca
    Finally, I have read some users used an app called 'Orca' to drop out some of the launch conditions. But obviously it didn't work for me either...

    I am very depressed...I do not understand what was the problem and why other could have overcome this, but not me.

    Is there any other way to successfully install Win7 64bit on my iMac?
    Is it the problem of the version of BootCamp?
    Should I download Bootcamp 3.0 to try out?

    Thanks in advance for any comments!!
     
  2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    This has always worked for me, even on a 2007 iMac and I am thinking late 2006.
     
  3. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    1. Click Start
    2. In search type, "cmd"
    3. When the results appear Right+click CMD and "Run as Administrator"
    4. Then navigate to the folder where the BootCamp64.msi is located, (example: cd\c:\Users\Mik ey\Documents)
    5. The prompt will then take you to that folder.
    6. Type "BootCamp64.msi" and press enter.

    This works 100% every time. You can also go into the windows registry and set .msi to run as admin every time.
     
  4. peaks82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Dear monkeybagel, torana355,

    Thanks for your reply!
    I guess maybe I made some mistakes on typing the command...

    I just tried to type in as your instructions, but it says wrong command.
    Pls let me go through what i have typed and see if i made mistakes.

    I have already copied my 'WindowsSupport' folder to desktop.


    #1) Search CMD and "run as administrator (no problem)
    #2) The DOS window shows " C:\Windows\system32> " ( i guess this is fine too)
    #3) Follow "C:\Windows\system32>" with no space, I type in "c:\Users\Alan\Desktop\WinsdowsSupport\Apple (It says command error...)

    #4) What should i supposed to type on this step?

    Sorry for being a beginner on Windows MS-DOS...
    Pls kindly help!!
     
  5. torana355, Jan 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013

    torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    You need "cd" at the start to change the directory. So type this exactly-

    cd c:\Users\Alan\Desktop\WindowsSupport\Apple

    then

    BootCamp64.msi
     
  6. peaks82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Dear Torana355,

    It works perfect!!! It's my bad that i mistyping "cd" at the front!
    (I thought I was not install from CD, so i skipped "cd" in the command...It actually means 'change directory')
    Thank you very much!!! You helped me a lot!! So many nice ppl around here...
    Now I can install my new bought 4GX2 onto the my iMac and speed up on Windows too.

    Actually, I have decided not to get the new slim iMac but to upgrade my current iMac.
    I have bought extra rams, replaced a 2TB hard disk and put in a 128GB SSD to replace my optical drive which is broken.
    I would love to hear your opinion on how to configure the hard disks.

    I will try to organize my wordings and put in a new post.
    Pls kindly give me some advises later!

    Cheers, mate!
     
  7. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Glad i could help, i had that same issue twice lol, the first time i googled it and got it going, then when i got my new 2012 imac i had to do a clean install on my 2008 iMac and forgot how to do it again lol
     

Share This Page