Explaining EDGE

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jarulejt, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. jarulejt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    I just want to know what EDGE is??

    Im currently using WI-FI with my home Hub, I unplugged the HUB and my Iphone was no longer able to connect to the Safari Browser??

    Juts wondering is there something different i have to do to access Safari via EDGE??

    Im all new to this and cant seem to work it out or get any help..

    Thanks!
     
  2. iZune macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #2
    The iPhone should smoothly move from Wi-Fi to EDGE if no Wi-Fi is available, however EDGE is pretty slow.

    EDGE is just a name for the mobile internet service iPhone uses.
     
  3. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #3
    So its just basically like WAP?? Should be able to pick it up most places?
     
  4. specops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #4
    EDGE is just your cellular network being used as internet. So if you have a cell phone signal you should have some EDGE reception. They just use EDGE (your cell phone signal) to transfer the internet information. Although EDGE is slow you should have EDGE in most places as long as you have a signal.
     
  5. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    Thats nice, as i said i switched my Router connection off on my phone and when trying to connect to the Safari says it couldnt find a service/signal or something.. when i had full signal..

    But when out of range tommorow ill give it a proper go, maybe disableing it via the phone wont work!

    Thanks
     
  6. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #6
    Uh, can you make phone calls with the iPhone?

    Are you sure you're not confusing the iPhone with the iPod touch? :/
     
  7. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    Can you make phone calls on it?
     
  9. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #9
    Yeah i can, Everything is activated..

    In the settings i Unabled Wi-Fi, which i thought would Disable me connecting Via my ROuter and connect via EDGE..

    But as i have just written that i have realised maybe EDGE connects via WI-FI lol DOH!!
     
  10. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #10
    No EDGE doesn't connect via WI-FI.

    Forget the fancy jargon, EDGE = your cellular network. You can make calls? Then you're connected to the cellular network. Simple as that. I don't know why you can't connect with Safari. Try waiting for a bit (like other posters above said, it's slow). If it's no go, call up AT&T, because that's their problem, not yours.
     
  11. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #11
    Just says..

    "Safari can't open the page because it could not connect to the server"

    God knows, ill give it a blast tommorow
     
  12. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #12
    I usually get that when I typed in an invalid address.

    Try www.google.com or something?
     
  13. jarulejt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #13
    Yeah Safari Is Working, But tryin to click a Youtube video says...

    "YouTube Videos require an EDGE or WI-FI connection"
     
  14. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #14
    it could be that

    1. Your area doesnt offer EDGE (which I know very few area's dont)
    2. EDGE is down temporarily, I know sometimes EDGE doesnt always work even if I have all bars

    I would take it to an apple store and show them the problem, if there is a problem with your phone apple will replace it.
     

Share This Page