exporting for web

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by grooveattack, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    hey guys.
    i need some advice. i am trying to put some videos on my portfolio site but i am crap at understanding how/format etc. of exporting.
    at the moment safari crashes when trying to load up a video on my site, i am guessing its to big or wrong format.

    its just made in iweb hosted on mobileme
    any help please??
    cheers
     
  2. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #2
    Could you shed some light on what kind of video it is? Where did you get the video from, what format is it (.mov/.wmv/.avi). Did you make it yourself?

    You could try to embed a video from youtube.
     
  3. grooveattack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #3
    20min video
    .mov format
    made myself

    can i keep it .mov and just lower the quality loads??
    sorry, editing i can do, exporting and formats and all that jazz are just beyond me
    (a big thank you goes out to the UK education system)
     
  4. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #4
    Are you using iMovie? If so, just export using one of the presets (mobile should work well, as it's designed for YouTube, among other things). Or you can go with QuickTime exporting and set your parameters. I found that under SL this is very unreliable for me, and it causes my iMovie to crash most of the time. I'm thinking it must be QuickTime X, because Journler and Together both have problems when I add video clips to them now, when they never did in the past.
     
  5. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #5
    You know you can install quicktime 7 from the upgrade dvd, right?
     
  6. grooveattack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #6
    as embarrassing as it is i am a final cut pro user and motion and AE user. i know, i should know this stuff but we all have gaps in out knowledge and this is mine.
    deal with it.
    have a look your self:

    http://web.me.com/c.woolford/Portfollio_site/Welcome.html

    is it ok? just meant to be a demo of work, not a blow your mid website. Hopefully it wont crash.
    Any ideas??? i am learning here.
    Student alert!!!
    Thank you!!!!
     
  7. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #7
    I have QuickTime 7 Pro. But for whatever reason, I find iMovie and QuickTime X very unstable under Snow Leopard.

    Is there a way to have iMovie '09 default to using QuickTime 7 rather than QuickTime X?
     
  8. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #8
    First, in iWeb, turn of Autoplay for each video. Safari seemed to get lost for a bit while loading your video page because it is also loading those videos. It didn't crash. To turn autoplay off, click on the video in iWeb, open the inspector, click on the QuickTime icon to the right and de-select Autoplay.

    Perhaps my export guides will help you understand some of this. It all comes down to a balancing act.

    Your second video appears to be interlaced. Try de-interlacing on the export of it.

    Lastly, I think you should post full size videos. The 320x240 size is a bit small.
     
  9. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #9
    I hadn't heard that iMovie is using QuickTime X. Has anyone used iMovie 09 without QT7 being installed? How about the QuickTime export options in the same scenario?

    I've read that QuickTime X will launch QuickTime 7 (if installed of course) services when it can't handle requests.

    I haven't seen any notes regarding avoiding QTX.
     
  10. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #10
    @ grooveattack,

    I've seen your website and downloaded one video. Looks to me you did the stuff above, right?

    Well, it's still a little bit slow for me (okay, I'm on an iMac G4), and everybody with a pc needs quicktime to be installed (which doesn't always works perfectly), so I would strongly advice to make it flash. You have AE so maybe you have the software package to convert it into flash (I have it, cause my little brother has the web premium package).

    Or you could try just use youtube or vimeo. Cause with quicktime it will work eventually, but youtube will be a lot less hassle for most pc people.
     
  11. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #11
    Ok, I'll look into this a little more. It's just very annoying to have iMovie and QuickTime crash so often under Snow Leopard. I assumed it was a problem with QuickTime X, but it might be something else.
     

Share This Page