Exporting in FCE 4 - which format??? Please?!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by FSMBP, Jun 9, 2009.

1. FSMBP macrumors 68020

FSMBP

Ok, basically my main goal is to preserve image quality at all cost (harddrive space is not an issue).

I uploaded footage shot on Sony's Digital8 Format (records onto a 8mm). I edited and now I want to export.

Here's my problem:

I went to export, using "As Quicktime Movie". It did it's thing and the file size was comparable to the size of the raw footage (captured via FCE 4). BUT, I decided to Export using Quicktime Conversion, and I picked H.264 with the max settings. The H.264 version had noticeable better quality.

What's the deal? I'm lost, isn't "As Quicktime Movie" supposed to be the same quality as footage captured? So if someone can explain without throwing too much jargon, I'd appreciate it.

2. holidaypf macrumors member

I'm just learning this myself, but as I understand it, a quicktime movie is just a "container." There are many different types of files that can be used in the .mov format. H.264 is a high definition file type. For example, I have a little minicam, Kodak Zi6, that shoots 720p in 30 fps. They come out as .mov files in H.264 format. I think that the DV/DVCPRO - NTSC, 640 x 480, 29.97 fps is a pretty standard format for 4:3 viewing.

And also, you can only downgrade from the quality of the original footage. Taking a highly compressed file and exporting it to higher quality settings will only increase your file size, but not the actual quality.

3. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk

FSMBP:

It seems inconceivable that you would see better image quality as H.264 than you would outputting a QT movie with settings that matched the capture codec. If you captured over FW from Digital8, it should have ingested as DV/DVCPRO25.

Are you sure that when you go to "Export --> Quicktime" movie that it's exporting with "Current Settings?"