Expose and Spaces on MBA 11. Optimize screen space

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gimmi80, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. gimmi80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    recently I've been struggling a bit with the limited (just in size) screen of the MBA 11'.
    I can fit the same windows that I'm used to (coming from an MBP13') but I've problem reading, so I often use a full screen view (enlarge the windows dragging them from the corner).

    I've tried to use spaces creating 4 or 5 virtual desktop to which I assign one application each and than I move around as I need.
    I've mail always open full screen in one, in the second I've iCal, in one I've Pages and so and so.
    I like it, but not love it. The main limitation is moving around from desktop to desktop (I still don't remember what is where) and I find the process slow.

    I'm interested in finding out if there are any tricks or what's your workflow to overcome the problem.
    I would like to do something like expose but with the different desktops, is it possible?
     
  2. dergaderg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #2
    Better Touch Tool


    Download better touch tool. Set up trackpad gestures to go to different spaces
     
  3. Eric5273 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Sounds like you need to upgrade to Lion when its available. It has that "Mission Control" feature that lets you navigate between full screen apps with simple trackpad swipes.
     
  4. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    how do u make it to switch between spaces?

    currently i have 2 spaces and i made 5 fingers swipe up to go to space 1, and 5 fingers swipe down to go to space 2?

    can i make it just with one gesture to cycle the spaces?
     
  5. Mr. Savage macrumors regular

    Mr. Savage

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    I still find hot corners (top right in my case) to be easiest way to activate Spaces—but that's just what I'm used to, I guess.
     
  6. ritmomundo macrumors 68000

    ritmomundo

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Me too! Top right corner. However I rarely ever use spaces. It's convenient, but in instances where it would be super helpful, I forget its there. Oh well...
     
  7. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #7
    me too using bottom right corner to activate space, but it takes mouse movement and a click to activate.

    would be convenience to just switch to mail.app directly that i put on the second space.
     
  8. gimmi80 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #8
    thanks for the numerous answers.
    At the moment I've better touch tool and I'm using the corner click.
    It's working.
    Look forward to Lion!
     
  9. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

    Akira1980

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    I have the same setup! :)
     
  10. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    I use BetterTouchTool and set it up like this:
    • Four finger click: Spaces
    • Four finger swipe left/right: switch between Spaces
    • Four finger swipe down: Expose
    It works great and only took about two minutes to set up. :)
     
  11. truncj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #11

    I just set mine up like that since I never use four finger swipes to change applications. It did take me a while to realize that BetterTouchTool doesn't have an action "switch between spaces" but instead you create a four finger swipe left gesture linked to the keyboard combo "control+leftarrow" and visa versa. Thanks!
     
  12. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #12
    i can't find "Switch between spaces" inside the predefined action.

    please tell me how?
     

Share This Page