Expose for iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Malcster, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. Malcster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #1
    Its on Cydia now and its called Orbit, its stunning, really useful if you have a lot of app screens.. check out the vid below.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvKdKaO4iyc

    The finished build off cydia is much faster than the video, instant on my 3GS.

    edit: Sorry should have added its $2 and as stated above the version on Cydia runs much better than the video above implies. It caches the screens now i believe where as the youtube build shown clearly doesn't.
     
  2. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #2
    Should be mentioned that it costs $2.

    I'm getting a server error when I try to purchase.
     
  3. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Try the beyouriphone repo. It works and its free.
     
  4. vexatia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #4
    My friend just purchased this and it works as advertised. At the risk of sounding lame, expose (as implemented with a multi-touch trackpad) partially drove my decision to switch to mac for personal computing. It's not as useful on an iphone, but it's still nice to have. My friend had run without winterboard installed for a few weeks, but will revisit that decision in order to accommodate a 5-icon dock that includes Orbit.
     
  5. vexatia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #5
    hmmm...my friend just realized that he can install 5-icon dock without Winterboard!
     
  6. NSK123 macrumors regular

    NSK123

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #6
    Orbit works really great, eliminates the swiping craze when you have to get from page 1 to page 7 on your homescreen. Just tap and select.

    I've been using it all day and I'm definitely keeping it, dunno how I lived without it before.

    Only downside is that the preview windows are small screenshots, So let's say you have an app with a notification on page 7, that won't show. But it's not a big deal if you have status notifier installed.

    That youtube video must be an older version, in the one on cydia the windows are readily loaded, so they appear instant when tapping the Orbit icon.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  8. NSK123 macrumors regular

    NSK123

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #8
    I'm running 3.1.2 on my 3GS and it works fine.

    Must be your phone.
     
  9. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  10. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #10
    Yes
     
  11. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  12. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #12
    I kind of agree - I uninstalled it. Those tiny icons were hurting my eyes.
     
  13. JUSTQUAN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #13
    no offense but i will stick with categories. i kept it simple, just four folders on my screen. thos i have 8 pages of apps. condensed in the the four main folders. the iphone was made for the swipe but honestly theat gets very old when you cant remember what the hell you downloaded lol.
     
  14. buccsmf1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #14
    Only the 2nd app I've purchased on cydia but I love it. Extremely responsive, very useful, looks fantastic. Replaced categories for me.
     
  15. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #15
    I thought it would be ridiculous but it's actually good. I'm not actually looking at the individual icons, I just know the page I want from either the position in the grid or the general color and shape of the layout. It's a lot more practical than I thought, and it's little less effort and quicker than swiping pages or tapping near the dots.
     
  16. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #16
    Your opinion has been noted.
     
  17. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #17
    Which repo did you install from?
     
  18. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS (JB3.1, unlocked): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7C144 Safari/528.16)

    Thanks for posting this - great app! I got an email from the dev saying that doubletap Home Button functionality would be added in an update next week; that's really all this app needs at this point. Sure beats having to flip through multiple pages of apps!
     
  19. Ice-Cube macrumors 6502a

    Ice-Cube

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #19
    Just installed this and its freaking awesome!!! Absolutely zero lag. Another reason for me to jailbreak.
     
  20. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    That would be cool but I like to use the double tap for kirakae. I'd like to see a single finger swipe down the center of the springboard to activate expose.

    Like so; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7soM07Y3qNI
     
  21. Kuddles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #21
    I found it utterly useless.. in order for it to be somewhat useful, there definitely needs to be a gesture for opening (a la qtwitter). right now, its just a cute useless app.
     
  22. vexatia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #22
    My friend wouldn't want to lose dbl home for Kirikae either.
     
  23. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #23
    I don't necessarily agree with this. If you use five-icon dock and add the Orbit icon to your dock, it's pretty easy to invoke it - I don't see how a finger gesture is any easier than simply tapping on an icon on your dock. I still find the icons to be way too small but most here don't seem to have a problem with that.
     

Share This Page