Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tokolowicz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 8, 2005
Hi-

I am a MAC newbie and very happy. I recently bought a used 2 month old PB from someone. I have a 15" PB - 1GB of RAM - (128 VRAM) - SuperDrive, etc. BTW, how can I verify I have 128MB of VRAM and a 9700 Graphic chipset???

Basically, I am test driving the PB for two days and I can return it if it wasn't delivered as promised (escrow is a wonderful thing). Also, I paid $1600 for it which is a great price, seeing that the orig owner paid $2700 at the Apple store 2 mos. ago.

Sorry for the rambling, but my main question is that expose doesn't seem to be working, and I haven't been able to find any support related items on how to resolve it. I have not changed the default key settings. The only key that works is F11 (minimize all). Nothing happens when I hit F9 and F10 and they are assigned properly. When I hit F9 or F10, the only thing that happens is the logo on the F9 and F10 key appears on the screen (with a certain amount of transparency and also a circle with a line through it appears. Any ideas?

Thanks-
Todd

ITASOR

macrumors 601
Mar 20, 2005
Hmmm that's definitely a weird problem. Did you try using Google and searching for like "F keys not working on PowerBook"? If not I would try that. You can verify all the system specs by clicking the Apple logo in the topr left of your screen and choosing "About this Mac." Then choose "More Info" and the system profiler will open. Just click the appropriate category on the left, and you should find all the info you need.

Goog luck with the PowerBook!

Nickygoat

macrumors 6502a
Dec 11, 2004
London
Has the previous owner changed the exposé functions to something else?
Try System Prefs->Exposé and make sure that F9 and F10 are in place.