express card woes...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tws, Jan 5, 2009.

1. tws macrumors newbie

folks,

just a moment of your time pls.

perhaps another has solved this problem.

i recently ordered and received this sataII express card.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/EXP34SATA2P1/

this card is advertised to work without drivers on my 17" macbook pro 2.33GHz Intel core 2 duo - plug and play.

however, when i put the express card into my macbook pro it crashed... a gray screen came up and said (in three languages) that i had to restart the computer - hold down the start button for several seconds... this happened twice.

i've never used the express card slot before and am not certain if i can just put the sataII card in without it being attached to a drive (the 1 tb drive is in transit to me)

there is diddly squat tech info that came with the card. one would think that inserting the card would lead to some kind of acknowledgement that it is present in the apple os x.... but instead it crashed twice.

i contacted OWC but they have so far been very unforthcoming tech wise... they will produce a RMA no. so i can return it but don't seem to care whether it works or not.. the tech merely repeated what the nomenclature said about the card and said it may be faulty and they would replace it.

does anyone know about these sataII express cards?

any help would be appreciated.

tws

2. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

iMacDragon

Does sound like something may be faulty or corrupted, I've got a similar ( jmicron based ) card, and it works just fine plug and play with no extra drivers on my first gen and latest gen MBP in os x. works fine on the old gen in windows too, but no end of issues on current gen.. but they seem to be apples fault, not the cards.

3. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

kastenbrust

Have you tried inserting the express card and then turning on your computer?

4. tws thread starter macrumors newbie

5. kgeier82 macrumors 65816