ExpressCard USB3.0 works as USB2.0

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Astr0n, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Astr0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #1
    Hello! I suffer already half a year. There is LaCie USB3.0 ExpressCard/34 and MacBook Pro 17" Late 2011 (MD311). I can't force to work in any way the card under OS X with USB3.0 speed (W/R 35/39 MB/s max!!!)
    On the same laptop under Windows 7 BootCamp with Renesas drivers, the card perfectly clings HDD and gives out the decent speed of copying.
     
  2. F1 Fan, Jan 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013

    F1 Fan macrumors regular

    F1 Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    There's your problem. Your Macbook has USB 2 ports, not USB 3. Apple only started using USB 3 in 2012.

    EDIT: Ignore this post - I was a doofus!
     
  3. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    What a nonsense, he bought an express card with USB 3 ports and there are drivers provided by Lacie and I even provided the link.

    You clearly didn't read nor understand do you.:eek:
     
  4. F1 Fan macrumors regular

    F1 Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Read; didn't understand :eek:
     
  5. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    No worries.

    I even think that if he has 10.8.2 he can hack the Apple .Kexts so that he does not need Drivers but this is quite hard.
     
  6. Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #7
  7. justperry, Jan 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    If you click on The Apple Menu and then about this Mac, then click on More info System Profiler Opens, your Express card should be mentioned under PC or PCI cards, what does it say?

    Edit: I think you do have a USB Cable do you, if not then that is the problem.
     
  8. Astr0n, Jan 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013

    Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #9
    [​IMG]

    External container USB3.0 with hard disk. At other computers works normally, speed ok.


    [​IMG]
     
  9. justperry, Jan 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    Very odd, the only thing what I right now can think of is NTFS USB 3 speed is not supported but HFS+ might be although that sound also implausible to me.

    Edit: I recommend you to contact their customer service or support.

    Edit Again: The only thing you might try is repairing permissions.
     
  10. Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #11
    I understood about what you speak. I think, a problem not in it.

    It is unlikely they know more you :)
     
  11. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #12
    I updated my last post, essentially saying to try to repair permissions, might help.
     
  12. Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #13
    There can be fault a hardware incompatibility? But then why in Windows speed corresponds to USB3.0? How to make Repair Permissions? Through Disk Utility?
     
  13. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #14
    Yes through Disk Utilities.
    Hardware is Ok, permissions repair just sets the permissions to the correct ones if they are of, and it happens.

    Open Disk Utilities, click on the Volume under the internal disk and click repair permissions, can take a while, if it repaired files you better do a restart.
     
  14. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #15
    You should use Fresco Logic based cards, like:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008CFJJ4S

    (Mac) OS X >= 10.8.2 supports Fresco Logic based cards without additional drivers.
     
  15. Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #16
    Thanks, it I already tried many times. Didn't help.
     
  16. Astr0n thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #17
    Thanks for information. I am very disappointed that praised LaCie which I in Germany ordered and month waited, it appeared a usual Chinese garbage.
     

Share This Page