Extend life or not mp 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by freshbread, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. freshbread macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #1
    I would appreciate any advice or opinions. My goal is to increase performance on after effects and video editing and rendering.

    Current: Mac Pro 1,1 2x dual core 3.0ghz with apple raid card (original/old), esata and USB 3 pci cards, ati 5770, 24 gb ram, 2 ssd in optical bay.

    Potential options:

    1) do the efi upgrade, swap out raid card for newer tech sas mini 6g, increase ram to 32. Cost: approx 650.00

    2) buy used imac i7 and use Mac Pro as server/external drive via gigabit ethernet. Cost: 2600.00

    3) buy used 5,1 and get rid of 1,1. Maybe upgrade processors later. Cost: 2300.00

    Appreciate any thoughts. By the way the efi upgrade feels slightly beyond me but I'd give it a go.
     
  2. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #2
    4.) Upgrade 1,1 to tide you over until the 2nd rev. nMP is available as refurb.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    5) Buy a 4,1 Single CPU Mac Pro, Upgrade firmware to 5,1, UpGrade CPU, GPU, and RAM. Install Solo x2 with Samsung SSD.

    Lou
     
  4. rei101 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #4
    I have the same machine but 2.6. I installed a 2GB video card on top of all what you have and no difference, $700 wasted, it was running just the same with the 256MG Vram that came originally.

    I have a 2010 iMac that is my main computer and I used the Mac Pro connected via ethernet and when doing renders in Cinema 4D I can used it as a render engine both machines together or doing renders itself while I keep working on the iMac. But the machine is very slow.

    If you are using FCP 7 you are fine but... it is better to keep it as a server and as a hub for every device except for Thunderbold. That is the best use I have for it, everything is connected to that machine.
     
  5. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #5
    Thank you all very much. I am leaning towards some new technology, but don't want to just get rid of an essentially good machine that has served me well for so long.

    Rei101: are you saying keep raid card/raided drives in 1,1 and via ethernet cable it transfers data fast enough to be useful? Also as a render engine, how to divide that work load/assign specific task to this computer?

    I mostly have move to adobe creative suite now.

    Thank you.
     
  6. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #6
    From person experience, the bump in processors from quad core to 8 core is quite the boost, if you choose to stay with the 1,1. They're for sure still capable, just need a bit more TLC.
     
  7. thats all folks macrumors 6502a

    thats all folks

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location:
    Austin (supposedly in Texas)
    #7
    Let it go. Looks like you've already spent too much on it as it is. The CPU and architecture improvements that came with the 4,1 leave the previous machines as a piece of history.

    If t you want the Mac Pro form factor, do as Flowrider suggested, buy a used 4,1 and upgrade that as you see fit. I've done this on 20 plus machines now. So much power for so little money. You can do something respectable for under $2K. And you can do it in stages if you are concerned about the size of the outlay.

    It's pretty easy to find on eBay machines already upgraded by others.

    If you just want more power, wait for a new Mini to be released. I haven't dealt with the recent iMacs (not really a fan) but they will certainly top what any 1,1 will ever be able to do.


    Keep the 1,1 for other uses. Make it an administrative machine or use if for internet browsing when rendering on the main machine. I hooked mine up to my television and use it as a media system.
     
  8. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #8
    for those who are recommend the OP to 4,1 ...why would you recommend 4,1 when there is 5,1?
     
  9. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #9
    They are essentially the same machine - the 4,1 standardly used Xeon E55XX and X55XX CPUs, but with a firmware hack will accept the E56XX and X56XX CPUs that the 5,1s use. They are also often cheaper to purchase since they are OLDER machines.
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    As said above, I recommended it because the OP is interested in cost, and I was trying to keep it down. But, as I said, a single CPU machine. IMHO, the lidless CPUs on the dual CPU 4,1s are too much of a hassle to upgrade, and there is the real danger of damaging the computer. The single CPU 4,1 - 5,1 and the dual CPU 5,1 use conventional lidded CPUs, so the CPU upgrade path is not fraught with as much danger.

    Lou
     
  11. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #11
    ah ok.

    ----------

    probably cheaper than getting the nMP i guess.
     
  12. freshbread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008

Share This Page