extend partition size on boot camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by evilzero, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. evilzero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    is it possible to extend my partition size on boot camp without re-formatting?
    i'm on unibody macbook pro running 50gb of Windows 7, i'm running out of space right now and I'm thinking to extend it to 70-80gb to install more games on it. can this be done guys?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    No but you can use Winclone to back up your partition use DU to reduce the size of your os x partition and then restore it.

    There was a thread recently with detailed instructions.
     
  3. evilzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    thanks, but I read that people are having problems restoring windows 7 with winclone.. Is it fixed yet? I wanna know since i'm using win 7 myself..
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    If you have enough disk space you could just use Disk Utility to backup the NTFS partition as a DMG as a non resizeable fallback if you can't restore from Winclone.

    B
     
  5. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #5
    I would recommend to compress Windows before you take the image and decompress it when you have fitted it back.
     
  6. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #6
    i got it to work though it needed to do a disk check afterwards...which took AGES, but it still works...
     
  7. evilzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    cool, nice to hear that.. can't believe I went through lots of stuff from reformatting osx just to get bootcamp assistant to work.. restored my ntfs clone file to fat32 bootcamp partition and lost 20gb of my partition.. doing it over again now... :(
     
  8. evilzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    ok i think i'm doing something wrong here.. i restored my clone (50gb) to a new made partition (70gb).. but when i boot into windows, I still have 50gb of storage.. how do i get the new extended partition back? can someone tell me what i'm suppose to do?
     
  9. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #9
    you didn't put the clone on the wrong partition did you?
     
  10. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #10
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Well I guess that stands to reason if winclone uses ntfsprogs to do its stuff that the same capabilities should be in other packages!

    I'd still use winclone to back things up (not generally a good idea to do major partition operations without a back up) but it does sound like gparted should do the trick.

    Good to know!

    B
     
  12. evilzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    Thanks, I'll give GParted a try next time.. bcoz winclone isn't as friendly as I thought, well it's windows os part to blame though.. been running checkdisk after restore... 13 hours so far and it's not even done.. you guys were right..
     
  13. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #13
    Be really careful. Balamw is right, you should backup everything before you try to change partition sizes.

    GParted isn't easy, but I was able to figure it out without reading any help documents(although I prob should have).

    Good luck =)
     
  14. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #14
    There is/was an app for windows called Partition Magic. It would allow you to adjust your partition sizes without having to reformat. It worked awesome. All you had to do was, on the Mac side, contract your Mac partition; then boot back to windows and use this to expand your partition.

    Ok it is still there and there are several others :

    Partition Magic 8
    Partition Manager
    Disk Doctor Suite 10
    gParted

    The first three can be pricy, but the last one is free. I know what one I would try first the next time I need to do it. :D
     
  15. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    Last I checked PM8 didn't understand GPT, so I would never use it on a Mac. Unless I knew for a fact that the drive was partitioned using MBR only.

    I would be very leery of any similar product that did not explicitly call out GPT or Mac compatibility for the same reason.

    I know there have been some issues with Acronis (makers of Disk Doctor 10) TrueImage and hybrid GPT/MBR partition tables such as Boot Camp is prone to use.

    gparted is clearly designed for GPT and the price is right.

    EDIT: CAREFUL! PM8 has not been updated since 2003. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PartitionMagic

    EDIT2: DD10 is out as well, does not support GPT. http://kb.acronis.com/content/1827

    EDIT3: Paragon Partition Manager 10 Professional claims GPT support and explicitly says that it supports Boot Camp, so it looks like a good solution!

    B
     
  16. evilzero thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #16
    so you are saying all i have to do is shrink some partition on mac, then claim the partition in windows with one of those software? man... that sounds simple.. how come i never thought of that.. great stuff:D

    Edit: so only PPM 10 is the only option for now i guess...
     
  17. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #17
    Unless you are willing to try gparted.

    It is good to know that PPM10 claims full Boot Camp support, especially if you can get it on sale cheaper than the full $80 price.

    I still wouldn't resize it without a backup!

    B
     
  18. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #18
    Agreed!

    Yes, when I used partition magic 8, it was nice enough to know it do anything with the Mac partitions thus you couldn't do anything if the drive was fully partitioned. So I just went into OSX and make the Mac partition smaller. Then partition magic saw the free space and was able to allocate it to the NTFS partition.

    Oh, since it was my primary drive I had to boot off the install CD (tiger at the time) and adjust the primary partition that way -- it wouldn't let me make it smaller because it was the primary drive. I think this may have been fixed now.

    Good luck. If I was going to do it over again, I would give gparted a try.
     
  19. PreetinderBajwa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Location:
    HK
    #19
    Paragon Solution

    Hi All,

    Paragon Software has a solution I think. I bought their NTFS for Mac and got a MacBrowser free, whihc doesn't install on Win 7 Pro 64 Bit for some reason.

    But also downloaded a free item called Paragon Camptune...... I think it allows on the fly partition space management.

    Check it out, and do tell me if I've got it all wrong !!

    Regards

    Preetinder
     
  20. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #20
    I don't think it's on the fly since they say:

    So it's basically something like a gparted live CD.

    It's also still in beta FWIW, but seems very promising down the line! (I still won't resize partitions without a backup! ;))

    B
     
  21. ilovebananas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    england
    #21

    I winclone, there is an option to expand the NTFS partition. This allows a smaller image (50gb in your case), to be expanded into a larger partition (70gb).
    Just do winclone restore as normal then use this command. No access to winclone at the moment so don't know where it is but it works fine
     
  22. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #22
    Winclone is even having problems restoring Vista since SL. Not good at all. I can't even use my new 640GB HD!

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page