Extended metadata & exif info for files not displaying with "get info"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by alanz, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. alanz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #1
    I have snow leopard (w/ all the most recent updates installed). And for some reason when I select "Get Info" from the Finder, the information pane opens but the section labeled "More info" contains only the most basic info about the relevant file. For example- PNG & JPEG files don't even display the image size (WxH).

    I looked at a friends computer, running the same version of Snow Leopard, and when I go to Get Info it displays lots of relevant metadata, even for PSD, DNG and other file types. Can someone please tell me how to turn on the extended metadata support for Get Info (inspector)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Joseph Farrugia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Malta (EU)
    #2
    still a problem in OSX 10.6.8 on EXTERNAL drives

    This is still a problem; on Windows te EXIF is readily available;
    not even image dimension are visible on OSX, when using an external hard drive.
    Even when I copy an image on my 15" MBP 2011, the image dimensions previously visible under the "more info" option in the Get Info menu item......now have disappeared.

    It is an OSX software flaw; not a hardware issue.
    How do I know for certain?
    when I copy the image back onto the MBP's internal hard drive.....the image dimensions and other basic info is now visible!

    Anyone know a fix? Apple?
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Are you sure this isn't a function that is added in by a certain add-in or app that you installed.

    For example there are a number of QuickLook plug ins that extend Quick Look to files that are not supported by the base OS. ...

    B
     
  4. Joseph Farrugia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Malta (EU)
    #4
    Adobe CS4 & LR3
    Xee image browser (Mac basic viewer limited compared to Win 7)
    EXIF viewer
    XnViewMP
    Photo Mechanic
    RPP

    Is it any of those interfering?
    (Hint: I think not......although I do hope it was!)

    No, I think it is another niggling :apple:OS X bug. If it was one of these apps I have installed....or any other app/plugin for that matter; the problem would not be the one I outlined in the above post.

    Thanks so much for offering your input; appreciated. I owe you a cold beer when you pop over to sunny Malta!:D

    Thanks
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    My bet would be on Adobe. I seem to recall something along these lines changing when I installed Photoshop Express 8.

    EDIT: I was able to duplicate the issue on my MB that does not have Adobe PS anything on it. On a CD no info, on the internal more EXIF info.

    What file system is on your external? HFS+, FAT32/exFAT, NTFS?

    B
     
  6. 4TRAX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #6
    IPTC (extended EXIF) lost moving JPGs from Windows to Mac

    I have spent hours researching a problem that I encountered when moving 26000 photos from a Windows machine to my new Mac. I have Lightroom 3.4.1 on both machines and in the Windows version I added keywords to all my files, making sure that they were added to the JPG rather than just kept in the Lightroom catalogue. To test that the keywords were present in the JPG files outside of Lightroom on the Windows machine, I opened the files in the Viewer and sure enough the tags were present. I then copied all 26000 onto an external hard drive (NTFS) which, despite reading something to the contrary on the web, OS X 10.6.8 seemed more than happy to recognise when the drive was connected to the Mac. I dragged the files to the Mac, Loaded them all into Lightroom, and then after a while spotted that the keywords were not there. I opened a JPG outside of Lightroom on the Mac and did the right click, Get Info option. No keywords were reported.

    I repeated the file transfer this time using a FAT 32 memory stick to shift across a JPG and sure enough the keywords show up in Lightroom on the Mac and when using Get Info. So the NTFS filing system seems to be the likely culprit! How, I don't know, but it is the only possible explanation after trying countless other suggested fixes. Sadly because I had already renamed all the files originally imported into the Mac Lightroom Catalogue and mixed these with already present files, I now have 26000 files needing keywords... Another sleepless night or 3... Thanks balmw for your observation about the NTFS/FAT 32 problem - you have saved me a lot of future heartache :)
     
  7. 4TRAX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #7
    Bad News

    After my initial excitement about the solution to transferring files to my Mac whilst keeping their extended exif in place, I have now copied across 5Gb on my FAT 32 memory stick and it appears the keywords are missing once again. The only difference between my earlier experiment with a JPG is that this time the images were located within the Folders that house the JPG files on my Windows machine. So the question I now ask is whether the Folder has anything to do with losing the keywords on the Mac?
     
  8. 4TRAX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #8
    And finally...

    Please excuse the minute by minute reporting of this mini saga - I have just dragged a few of the JPG files out of the folder onto the desktop and all of a sudden the keywords are there again when using Get Info. I then imported one of the JPG files into Lightroom on the Mac and the key words are present. Weird or what?
     
  9. darkheroz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    #9
    re

    Hi,
    I have same issue. Picture transfer is direct - from DLSR to MAC, no Windows on the way. At first when I look file's info by Get Info Finder's function is OK. BUT second time EXIF info is MISSING !!! Just one time, at second is deleted. I am sure that is MAC software issue.
     

Share This Page