Extending a Wifi network with AirportExpress

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by aicul, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. aicul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a real old AirportExpress and would like to use it to extend a Wifi network.

    Looking at the options it says I can do so using WDS network.

    Problem is that my TimeCapsule does not give me the option to create a WDS network.

    So I basically have 2 questions :

    - is it possible to use an old AirportExpress to extend a wifi ?
    - does the new AirportExptress allow for the extension of Wifi ?

    Thanks for experienced ideas
     
  2. muon25 macrumors member

    muon25

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #2
    Set the wireless mode for your AE to "Extend a wireless network", select your TC's network name and it should just work.
     
  3. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #3
    I have checked the airport utility options for the (old) AirportExpress.

    The "Extend" option is not visible. In the "Airport/Wireless section there is a "wireless mode" that includes

    1. Create a wireless network
    2. Participate in a WDS network
    3. Join a wireless network

    Am I looking in the right place.

    I am using Airport v5.6 because it is the only version that support my old Airport Express
     
  4. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
  5. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #6
    Tried option 2. Made sure that all the parameters were in line with those of the base Timecapsule.

    However when I tried update the utility indicates I need at least one WDS peer.

    I suppose this should be the Timecapsule.

    So I checked the Timecapsule to see if I could have it create a WDS network. But that option was not available.

    Im sort of in a loop here ?

    ----------

    I also googled a bit, and found this tutorial (http://www.macgurulounge.com/started-learn-extend-airport-networks-wds/)

    which shows in step 2 of "create a WDS network" the option of "creating a WDS network"

    This option DOES NOT appear on my airport utility !

    :confused::confused::confused::confused:

    ----------

    Ooops read the WHOLE document, someone blogged in that I needed to "OPTION-CLICK" wireless mode to get WDS.

    I'll try that and report back...
     
  6. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #7
    I follow the instructions, but just do not get the AirportExpress to talk to the WDS.

    And the TimeCapsule complains that there is no other WDS client...

    Any ideas ?
     
  7. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats

Share This Page