External back-up question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sigmadog, Feb 12, 2009.

1. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

sigmadog

I've been neglecting my back-up situation for too long, and now that I've upgraded to Leopard with Time Machine, I figure it's time to start backing up my stuff.

I hear a lot of talk about RAID, and the impression I get is that it is most useful for video editing setups where massive storage and quick retrieval is key. Is this a correct assumption on my part?

As a print designer, my files can be large, but not nearly as large as video, and my need for ultra fast storage and retrieval is negligible. So would I be better off simply getting a single large capacity external (say 2 or 3TB) with Firewire?

2. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

sickmacdoc

OK in order to give valid advice I have to ask one question- are you asking about an external for backup as the title would make me believe or as an extra data drive as the body of your post would lead me to believe? I'm confused (but I'm also old too).;)

A general note though at this point- you cannot currently find a 2 or 3Tb single large capacity external- any external that has that capacity currently will be two drives in one case joined by concatenation (a relative of a RAID set- see this page) so that the sytem "sees" both as a single large drive. There is an impending release of single hard drives with capacity of 2Tb, but the largest single drive on the market is currently 1.5Tb.

As far as RAID arrays go, yes the most commonly cited reason for one is increased transfer speed, but along with that come risks to the data (again see the previous link as it explains the different RAID types and risks pretty clearly). I personally would never consider using a true RAID array as a destination for system backups.

3. dolphin842 macrumors 65816

dolphin842

Unless you're using a Mac Pro with multiple hard drive bays, RAID isn't a viable option.