External Display Cables for New iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dryice589, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. dryice589 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    #1
    Just ordered the new 27" iMac. Upgrading from a Late 2012 model and this will be my first USB-C product. Does anyone know if I can just order some USB-C to HDMI cables to hook up two external 4K monitors? Or do I really need apples AV adapter (or another type of adapter)? I don't plan on paying a premium for USB-C monitors. Likely will find some with traditional HDMI. Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    DON'T "cheap out" on the connecting cable/adapter/converter.
    You may not get the results you're looking for.

    I'm going to -guess- that a usb-c/tbolt (Mac) to displayport (display) cable will work. Unless Apple has changed something with this iteration of the iMacs.

    Does Apple have any supporting docs up yet about connecting third-party displays?
     
  3. dryice589 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    #3
    Not trying to cheap out, just don't want to overpay for a bunch of adapters if not needed.
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    There is also the "Club3d" line of adapters to go from USB-c to HDMI 2.0.

    IF you buy a USB-c to HDMI 2.0 adapter, AGAIN, don't cheap out on the HDMI connecting cable. You MUST have an HDMI cable that supports level 2.0 "high speeds", or it may not produce the desired results.

    But...
    I would think that USB-c to displayport would be the better option if the display supports displayport (I'm guessing that almost all new ones do).

    Whether a display supports USB-c charging would be of no importance to me. Not worth spending extra for.
     
  5. foulmouthedleon macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #6
    With Thunderbolt 3 does this mean that the iMac can be used as an external 4/5k display?
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    No. You can't assume that you can use the internal display as an external, unless Apple provides that support.
    Not there since the advent of 4k/5k displays.
    I see what you mean about TB3 potentially having the bandwidth to support that use, but there's no indication from Apple about that support (or not :) )

    Maybe someone who has a new iMac can check that for sure.
     

Share This Page