External Display for MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by erummel, Apr 25, 2008.

1. erummel macrumors member

erummel

I've decided it's time to purchase an external display for my 17" MBP (w/ 256 MB ATI X1600). I'm looking at getting a 22" wide-aspect display. I'm not concerned with the TN/(x)VA/IPS panel arguments, as I'm not a graphic designer and/or photographer. It will mainly be used for work (Word/PP/email/interweb- I'm a doctoral student and mainly work from home), watching TV and movies, and some gaming via BootCamp. I've looked at 24" displays, but they are way too pricey for the extra 2" viewable and sharper resolution (which is over the max for my graphics card).

The Dell UltraSharp 2208WFP seems an excellent choice when cost and features are considered. I really like the idea of an adjustable stand, as I'm tall and move around quite a bit whilst working so my neck doesn't fall off. This is the display:

http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=uk&l=en&s=dhs&cs=ukdhs1&sku=130004

Now Obviously I wouldn't buy from Dell, because I've found it new and factory sealed for less than £200 from reputable dealers. I'd like to know if anyone else has this display and what they think of it. I've found reviews on the interweb, but I'd prefer to read the experiences of MacRumors members as they're generally a trustworthy and helpful lot.

So is this a sound plan? Any other 22" that I should be looking at? Anyone want to try and talk me into a 24"?

Oh, and iff I buy this display, do I need any sort of adapter for my DV port on my MBP? Or will it just plug right in (it is a digital HD display)?

Thanks much,

E

2. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono

It'll plug right in without problems.

I can't comment on this particular screen, but generally the Dell displays are pretty good. We use quite a number at work, of various sizes, and they've all been very satisfactory.

A 24" would give you higher resolution, though. ;-)