External display MBP, asepct ratio and stuff

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by toebs, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. toebs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    Hello i have a problem when i connect my MBP to my plasma, but first ill introduce the hardware:

    MBP unibody 15.4"
    mini displayport -> dvi -> hdmi converter(s)
    Panasonic 42" PX700 plasma

    When i connect the MBP to the plasma, i set resolution on plasma to 1280x720.
    But some of the top, bottom, and edges are missing, like its a little zoomed.
    Allso picture looks a little stretched vertically, so that cars are boxy, faces are long etc.


    Any one know what to do?
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    this is called overscan... it's part of the TV, see if you can turn it off with one of the TV's picture settings.
     
  3. toebs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    #3
    Thanks i will see if i can.

    However when using windows, its not a problem. But sofacontrol for mac rocs so much, i wont to use osx ;)
     
  4. Fazzl macrumors 6502a

    Fazzl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
  5. roidy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    Is the TV the Panasonic TH42PX70 sometimes called the TH42PX700 because if it is then the TV only has a panel resolution of 1024x768.
     
  6. vw412fan macrumors newbie

    vw412fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    You might be able to achieve the right resolution settings on your Macbook by installing SwitchResX in order to come up with custom display settings.

    At one point I had my Mac mini connected by DVI-HDMI to my Panasonic TH-50PX80U plasma (also 1024 x 768 iirc).

    I played around with SwitchResX and posted my settings here: http://fleablog.com/intel-mac-mini-switchresx-and-panasonic-th-50px80u-plasma/ Someone else posted comments as well, with slightly different settings.

    Perhaps trying SwitchResX will help.
     

Share This Page