External display problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BartonF, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. BartonF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #1
    Hello

    I have an iMac 2006, this model: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/specs/imac-core-2-duo-2.0-17-inch-specs.html

    The display is messed up, so I use an external 1080p display, this one: http://www.viewsonic.com/us/vx2450wm-led.html

    I use mini-dvi-DVI adaptor and a DVI cable.

    The problem: 1920 x 1080 screen does not fill the screen, but there are 2,5 cm black bar on the sides. The resolution setting says 1920 x 1080 though so it should be fine.

    With an old Mac mini (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_mini/specs/mac-mini-core-2-duo-1.83-specs.html) it works fine but I don't want to use that one, it's slower than the iMac.

    Any idea why there is this problem with the iMac?

    Thanks a lot!!!
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    You will need to do a little research to see the maximum resolution the iMac outputs to an external display. I don't believe a 2006 machine supports 1920x1080 on an external display.
     
  3. BartonF thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #3
    Well, it says on everymac about this iMac:

    Details: Apple reports that this model supports "digital resolutions up to 1920x1200" and "analog resolutions up to 2048x1536".

    Doesn't that mean that it should also support 1920x1080? Or have I misunderstood something?

    And about that Mac Mini it says the very same thing: The DVI video output supports digital resolutions up to 1920x1200.

    So why does it work with Mini but not with the iMac? I don't get it. :(
     
  4. BartonF thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #4
    As an extended desktop it IS fullscreen on this external display like it should - but when I mirror it, then the black bars come.... ?!?
     
  5. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #5
    because the main display has a different resolution than the external display
     
  6. BartonF thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #6
    Yeah, I got it know, it was a silly question..:eek:
     

Share This Page