External Displays and Graphics Switching?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by splitpea, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. splitpea macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #1
    I just plugged in my Cinema Display to my MBP for the first time, and for a while couldn't figure out why the heck the computer wasn't recognizing it (though maybe I'd gotten a bad MDP/DVI adaptor).

    Then I'd noticed I'd set it via gfxCardStatus to use Intel graphics only. I released it to Dynamic -- and voila! Display recognized. Interestingly, it now also will not accept being set back to Intel only with the monitor connected.

    Anyone else seen this?

    It doesn't seem to me that for web browsing and such it would be necessary to use the Nvidia graphics even for dual monitors. I don't suppose there's any way to keep it on Intel graphics and still use the external?
     
  2. Eithanius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #2
    Yes, Intel is useless when an external monitor is plugged in. When I forcibly select Intel graphics via gfxCardStatus, my external monitor just refuse to work on extended mode.
     
  3. arubinst macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Lausanne - Switzerland
    #3
    Only the discrete card is physically wired to the MDP.

    Cheers
     
  4. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #4
    It also happens with external proyectors, only works with the nVidia GPU..
     
  5. splitpea thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #5
    Oh well, that's too bad. Thanks for the info!
     

Share This Page