External Drive Access Anywhere w/ Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by strausd, Jun 28, 2012.

1. strausd macrumors 68030

I am looking into buying a Airport Express. I know you can create a networked HD with the device. But can you access that drive even when you are outside of the network it is on?
    If so, how do you set that up?
    If not what would be the best option?

Thanks for the help.

2. waw74 macrumors 68030

express doesn't take drives, only the extreme.

maybe a pogoplug? i have no experience with them, but they will do what you want.

3. strausd thread starter macrumors 68030

Thanks for the advice.

So I if I bought the extreme how would I set it up through that device?

4. skorpien macrumors 68020

This only applies to USB drives. If the OP was to get a NAS, they could connect it to the new Express' LAN port and share it.

OP, you could share a NAS outside of your home network by setting up an FTP server. You'll be required to enter your external IP address to access it, and if you have a dynamic IP address from your ISP, you may also need to set up a DDNS.

http://gizmodo.com/5528815/how-to-get-the-most-out-of-your-nas
    (look under Remote Access)

A solution like the Pogoplug may be easier to implement however, but a NAS is more versatile.

5. waw74 macrumors 68030

the pogoplug would be in place of the extreme, but all it does is act as a file server, you would loose the other functionality of the extreme (Time machine, router, wireless base station)

what kinds of files are you trying to share?
    and to what devices?

it makes a diference as to how you would do it.

if you think you're going to share video, think again, most home interent connections are not fast enough to stream video out.
    Music should work, as well as photos, and "office style" files.

6. strausd thread starter macrumors 68030

That sounds like what I am looking for. We simply want a location to store files and gain remote access to.