External Drive Raid 0

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macinstall11, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. Macinstall11, Sep 30, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2018

    Macinstall11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #1
    I don't know where to post this, please feel free to move the post if needed.

    I have an External SSD Thunderbolt Raid 0 (2 x 500).
    https://www.lacie.com/products/d2/#specs

    LaCie d2 Thunderbolt 1
    (old model, unlisted, it's like any other d2)

    Before I begin let me point out that for some reason when I connect it to Windows (via Thunderbolt) it's not recognized unless I have the program "Mac Drive" installed, why is that? please explain.


    Could someone please help me with:

    1.- Removing Raid 0 on Mac OS, basically I want two separated drives.

    2.- Format it or something so Windows can natively detect it without Mac Drive (is this possible?)


    Please and thank you!
     
  2. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #2
    I don’t know the answer, but maybe you can list the specific hardware that you’re using? That might help narrow it down.
     
  3. Macinstall11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #3
    That's true, the problem is I don't have it right now, I will try to find the model on the web
     
  4. mick2, Oct 1, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2018

    mick2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Windows and Macs have different file formats.
    Windows file format: NTFS
    Mac file formats: HFS+ or APFS
    I cant say why you installed 'Mac Drive', but this is a program to allows you to access Mac-formatted drives under windows, so i'd start there. Check the format of the drive. If its Mac format you need Mac Drive to read/write to the drive under windows.

    If you want to change this then reformat the drive in a format that both systems can read/write to. A good choice would be exFat or Fat32.

    See here for Lacie's instructions on how to do this: http://manuals.lacie.com/en/manuals/d2-tbt2/formatting

    This is a Lacie-specific question but I don't think it is easy to split the disks in the preconfigured D2 mirrored drives. Google might say otherwise though.

    HTH
     
  5. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    I think you should be contacting Lacie customer support with this.
     
  6. Macinstall11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #6
    Thank you for the help! and will do so



    The main problem was I needed the product serial number, which I don't have because I won't be home till mid Oct, but I will contact them :)
     

Share This Page

5 September 30, 2018