External drive won't show

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jimish, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Jimish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #1
    My PowerBook G4 crashed and I need data from it (I know I know)... I already had bought an external drive and had begun loading some fotos and music. Now I'm at a friend's Mac, firewired and all, and the external drive (visible in the disk utility) isn't to be found.

    I don't want to erase and reformat, obviously, ... can I drag it onto the desktop from the disk utility?
     
  2. Denarius macrumors 6502a

    Denarius

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    #2
    Do you have the repair option available in Disk Utility?
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Can you mount it via Disk Utility or repair it?

    If not, there is a software called Data Rescue 3 (99USD), which will be able to restore the files onto another HDD, if the PowerBooks's HDD has no physical damage of course.
     
  4. Jimish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for diving in Denarius

    (At the tabs for Info, First Aid, Erase, Partition and RAID. This is the "Thar be dragons" realm of the computer for me...)

    In the First Aid tab, only the Verify Disk button is dark, the Repair Disk button is gray (as are the 2 Permissions buttons)
     
  5. Jimish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #5
    An Apple Genius poked around and saw no evidence of a harddrive malfunction, said it was software not hardware
     
  6. Jimish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #6
    And I don't know how to mount it via Disk Utility
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    [​IMG]

    See the MOUNT icon in the toolbar? Select the volume on the HDD on the left side and click that MOUNT icon.


    You can multi-quote via the [​IMG] button, and you can edit your posts via the [​IMG] button.

     
  8. Jimish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #8
    Repair under way... so it says. And I found the Mount function... will those things impair the data on there already?
     
  9. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #9
    What things?

    Mounting - no.

    Disk Repair - I don't know, it will just try to repair it. See what it reports.
    If all fails, no data is lost anyway. Unless the damage is physical.
     
  10. Jimish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #10
    "Repair completed"

    I'll mount it now.... I don't think that came out right.

    So far, nothing

    UPDATE: and still nothing

    UPDATE: and I'm out
     

Share This Page