External Drives showing up as "Internal" in Disk Utility

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by VideoBeagle, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    No. As long as you can safely eject them, you should not need to worry about anything.
     
  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3
    Well, they don't have the "eject" button in the sidebar. (though I can right click and do it).
    And copying to it is requesting password authentication.
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    Well, I guess your Mac is not fully compatible with this USB hub for some reason, as I never see this before even when I use a cheap USB 3.0 hub bought from China to connect my multiple HDD at the same time.
     
  5. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #5
    Are these drives encrypted?

    For certain features including encryption, OS X converts disks to "Core Storage" volumes. It shouldn't affect using the drive day-to-day, but does make them appear as internal drives in certain places in OS X.

    (It may also do this by default if you reformat the drive -- I am not 100% sure about that)
     
  6. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #6
    Nope. No encryption or anything... if i plug them into the imac directly or another hub, they mount normally.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    OP wrote:
    "if i plug them into the imac directly or another hub, they mount normally."

    There's your answer.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Based on this comment, I'm wondering if they are encrypted and you did not realize it.

    Try attaching and mounting all the drives, then run the following two commands in Terminal and tell us the output if each command.

    Code:
    diskutil list
    
    diskutil cs list
     
  9. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #9
    Nope. No encyrption..

    And things work normally with those 2 drives plugged in to the hub plugged into the Macbook. (The iMac is now at the Apple Store to have it's hinge mechanism fixed).
     
  10. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #10
    Well, iMac is back from the store, brand new image on it, and this problem remains, so something about the hub and el capitan seems to be causing it.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    OP wrote:
    "Well, iMac is back from the store, brand new image on it, and this problem remains, so something about the hub and el capitan seems to be causing it."

    See reply #7 above.

    Solution:
    Get another hub.
     
  12. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #12
    Well I contacted the company and they sent out a replacement where things work right.
     
  13. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #13
    A replacement dong...no. A replacement hub?
     
  14. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #14
    One of my external drives shows up normally in Mavericks, whereas in El Capitan it appears as internal. Go figure. Same hub, same everything. Always happening with USB, as I have FW800 drives as well that show up properly in both OSes.
     

Share This Page