External enclosure question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rndman, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. rndman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    #1
    I am planning to replace the HDD in the mini with SSD. This is late 2012 mini.
    The HDD that comes out, I plan to use as Time machine after SSD is in.
    With that in mind and also to make the SSD drive ready before putting it in, I bought an enclosure, but unfortunately it is bus powered (USB 3.0).
    I am not sure if the HDD will work in the non externally powered enclosure.
    Will this work or I should strictly get one with the adapter?
    Thanks in advance for your suggestions..
     
  2. mojolicious, Apr 20, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014

    mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #2
    If it's a 500GB 5400rpm drive then there's absolutely no problem.

    If it's a 1TB 5400rpm drive then check with the manufacturer. All the big boys in the marketplace offer bus-powered 1TB externals, but some of the badgeless no-marks ship with 'Y' cables (ie they require power from *two* USB ports).

    Have you, um, read the accompanying documentation? :)

    ****

    EDIT: USB3 can pump out nearly double the amperage of USB2, and USB2 is capable of bus-powering 1TB 5400rpm externals.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    If you want to avoid problems, best to look for a enclosure that can run from either bus power OR its own external power supply.

    Here's one that has the option to add "power in":
    http://www.amazon.com/MiniPro-Exter...34&sr=8-3&keywords=oyen+digital+2.5+enclosure
    Note: I don't know if it includes a power adapter. If it doesn't, it probably wouldn't be difficult to buy one on ebay, or use one of those "universal" power brick kits that you can get from a place like partsexpress.com ...
     
  4. Crosscreek macrumors 68030

    Crosscreek

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Margarittaville
    #4
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    If you still have the standard 500GB 5400RPM drive in there that came with it, you should have no problem running that off a bus powered enclosure.
     
  6. rndman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    #6
    It's 1TB drive. So yeah, no sure how it will handle..
     

Share This Page