External FW HDD - 800 vs 400?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by inertiat, Oct 2, 2008.

1. inertiat macrumors member

I'm currently studying media at uni and I'm in need of a an external HDD but I have a few questions. My situation is the uni has Macs and I have a PC - I need a portable HDD from which I will stream all my work - the uni computers don't have enough space to let me move my work onto them and I don't want to ahce to keep moving work to and from my PC and my portable HDD - I want to be able to "stream" all my work from the portable HDD.

So after doing some research Firewire looks a must, but I can't find any good benchmarks between 400 and 800. Is FW 800 worth the extra money and will it allow me to edit movies on the fly straight from the portable HDD?

Cheers

2. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

800 is faster, but 400 should be sufficient. What ports do the Macs and your PC have? do they have FW 800?

3. inertiat thread starter macrumors member

The Macs have FW 800 but my PC only has 400, but I'll be doing most of the editing on the macs because they have Final Cut which I can't get on my PC, so speed is still an issue. I think I might go with a Lacie Rugged with FW 800

4. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

So you will just read them from the PC to archive them?

5. yippy macrumors 68020

yippy

I should warn you that you will have some issues with the format of the drive. You have three choices that all have compromises:

FAT32: Works on both Windows and Mac but has a single file size limit of 4Gb, something that you will most likely exceed if you are editing video.

NTFS: Full capabilities on Windows but only read capabilities on a Mac.

HFS +: Full capabilities on Mac. Cannot even be read by Windows.

Now the good news is there are programs (not free though) that will add HFS support for Windows or NTFS write support on a Mac, but they do cost money.

6. iShater macrumors 604

iShater